WELLSBORO—DELMAR AND CHARLESTON TOWNSHIPS.
BENJAMIN WISTAR MORRIS, the founder of Wellsboro, was born in the City of Philadelphia, in August, 1762, a son of Samuel Morris, a prominent merchant of that city. He was a member of the Society of Friends, then very numerous in Philadelphia. When the project of founding an English colony on Pine creek was started, he became a member of that company and the owner of a large body of land. Having met with financial reverses in his native city, through becoming security for a friend, he turned over his available property in Philadelphia to his creditors, reserving only the tract of wild land in Tioga township, Lycoming county, a part of which is now the site of Wellsboro, and smarting under the disgrace, as he regarded it, resolved to bury himself in the wilderness of the Pine creek region and try to retrieve his fortune. He was then past middle life, but he brought with him his wife, Mary (Wells) Morris, born in Philadelphia, September 16, 1761; one unmarried daughter, Rebecca, and his son, Samuel W., and settled in the wilderness in 1799, soon after building a log cabin on the site of W. D. Van Horn’s residence. It was dreary and lonely, after the life they had been used to, but they resolutely braved the trials and tribulations which fell to their lot and succeeded in founding a new home. In July, 1810, his daughter, Rebecca, married William Cox Ellis, of Muncy. Mr. Ellis was a representative man of Lycoming county, a member of the bar, and served in the legislature and in Congress. Mr. Morris held several offices of trust at an early day, among them postmaster of Wellsboro nearly ten years, and was prominent in the pioneer life of the community. His wife died in Wellsboro, which was named in her honor, November 6, 1819; he survived her until April 24, 1825, and died at his home in the same village. They are buried in the northeastern part of Wellsboro Cemetery, where plain marble slabs mark their graves.
SAMUEL WELLS MORRIS was born in Philadelphia, September 1, 1786, and came with his parents to what is now Tioga county in 1799. He was educated at Princeton College, and subsequently became one of the leading, progressive and distinguished citizens of northern Pennsylvania. He was the first treasurer of the county, serving from 1808 to 1809, and the first postmaster of Wellsboro, which office he filled from January 1, 1808, to December 31, 1812, and was succeeded by his father. In 1811 he was elected a county commissioner, which office he resigned to go upon the bench. In July, 1812, he was appointed an associate judge, and sat upon the bench with Judge Gibson at the opening of the first court in Wellsboro, in January, 1813. He was then twenty-six years old, and it is doubtful if a younger man ever served in that capacity in Pennsylvania. He filled the office until January, 1833. In 1832 he was elected to the legislature, in which body he served four years, and was a member of Congress from 1837 to 1841. In 1807 Mr. Morris married Miss Anna Ellis, daughter of William Ellis, of Muncy, Lycoming county, and sister of William Cox Ellis, who married his sister, Rebecca. Their children were as follows: William E., a civil engineer, who died in Philadelphia, in September, 1875; Mary Wells, who married Hon. James Lowrey; Sarah Ellis, who married Dr. Joseph P. Morris; Susan Marriott, who married Hon. John W. Guernsey; Benjamin Wistar, Protestant Episcopal bishop of Oregon; Rachel Wells, a resident of Portland, Oregon; Ellen, who married Judge Henry Booth, of Chicago; Charles Ellis, who died in 1887; Anna E., widow of George R. Barker, of Germantown, and mother of William Morris Barker, Protestant Episcopal bishop of Olympia, Washington; Louisa, who died in Philadelphia, in August, 1864, and Samuel Wells, a resident of Madison, New Jersey.
Judge Morris was a man of great activity and enterprise. at an early day he built a grist and saw-mill on his property near Stokesdale Junction, which proved a great convenience to the pioneers. At that time the place was known as "the Marsh," and is referred to by that name in the early records. His mill dam in more modern years has been designated as the "Beaver Dam," but it was built by him for supplying his mills with water power. It was afterwards torn away by a party of indignant settlers who believed that the stagnant water was the cause of fever and ague. Judge Morris was foremost in every improvement which he though would advance the interest of the country. He was a strong advocate for making the Tioga river navigable, and he succeeded in organizing the Tioga Navigation Company, of which he was the first president. The last public enterprise in which he was engaged was the construction of the Tioga railroad, to which he devoted ten of the best years of his life, laboring incessantly from the incorporation of the company in 1826 until he resigned on account of his election to Congress. "For the accomplishment of this undertaking," remarks a local writer, "and the development of the coal lands at Blossburg, he obtained the services of Richard C. Taylor, an eminent English engineer and geologist, who not only made a survey of the river for the navigation company and afterward for the railroad company, but also made a geological survey and examination of the minerals of the Blossburg coal region. Taylor’s geological report was published chiefly at the expense of Judge Morris. It was a work much sought after, but has long since been out of print and hard to obtain." There was no local enterprise which had for its object the advancement of the public welfare that did not have the earnest and substantial support of Judge Morris. He was one of the of the founders of the Wellsboro Academy, the first president of the board of trustees, to which he was elected again and again, serving as president, treasurer, etc., and remaining a firm friend of that institution up to the time of his death. He died at his home in Wellsboro, May 25, 1847, in the sixty-first year of his age. His wife, born near Muncy, Lycoming county, May 7, 1791, died at Germantown, January 26, 1858. Both are buried in the Wellsboro Cemetery, adjoining the graves of his parents.
JOHN NORRIS, whose name occurs frequently in the early records of Tioga county, was born in England in 1768, and was educated at Oxford University. He came to this country towards the close of the Eighteenth century, and early in 1799 removed from Philadelphia, as the agent of Benjamin Wistar Morris, to the headwaters of the first fork of Pine creek, near the site of the present village of Texas, Lycoming county. Here he soon afterwards built a rude grist and saw-mill, which became known as "Morris’ Mills." A year or two later Norris leased a building which had been erected by Phillip Moore, and opened a school, which was taught by himself and his wife, and pupils were received from as far away as Jersey Shore and the settlements along the river. As an educational enterprise it was considered wonderful for the time and attracted wide attention. When Benjamin Wistar Morris became interested in founding Wellsboro, he seems to have secured the assistance of Norris in the furtherance of his scheme, and the latter soon afterwards abandoned his school and settled at the Big March, from which he subsequently moved to the vicinity of the village, where he remained the balance of his days.
According to a deed on record at Williamsport (Deed Book F, p. 97) an insight is had of the causes which led to Norris’ removal, and the part he afterwards bore in promoting the interests of Morris and the Pine Creek Land Company. This deed which bears date of April 23, 1804, conveys a tract of 200 acres of land from Benjamin Wistar Morris to John Norris, and recites that:
In consideration of the services to be done and performed by the said John Norris in promoting and advancing the settlement and improvement of the lands held by the said Morris and others on and adjacent to Pine Creek, he, the said, B. W. Morris, conveyed in fee simple to the said John Norris, clear of all incumbrance, all that tract of land, &c. And the said Norris having fully complied with his part of the said agreement to this time and given satisfactory assurance to the said B. W. Morris, expedient and conducive to the interest and advancement of the settlement aforesaid, to convey at this time to the said John Norris the premises aforesaid, and in consideration of one dollar doth convey all that tract situated in Lycoming county, beginning at corner of General Brodhead’s, at a sugar maple, containing about 200 acres, adjoined on south by lands reserved for Morris’ Mills."
In the same Deed Book F, page 100, is another deed by Morris conveying a tract of 100 acres, in consideration of $400, to John Norris, called the "Marsh Tract." From the foregoing we see why Norris became interested with the founder of Wellsboro. And as a land agent he proved himself active, vigilant and trustworthy, and became one of the leading men of his time in the settlement.
When Tioga county was organized for judicial purposes, he was appointed the first prothonotary and register and recorder, and served until 1818. He also appears to have had some knowledge of surveying—probably acquired in connection with his land agency—for he served as county surveyor from 1814 to 1827, a period of thirteen years. And when Wellsboro was made a borough, in 1830, he was honored by being elected the first burgess. It should also be mentioned that he was a charter member when the act incorporating the Academy was passed, and was elected a trustee several times afterwards. By virtue of his position and social relations, John Norris was recognized as one of the leading citizens of Wellsboro, and was greatly esteemed and respected by the people.
Mr. Norris and his wife, Beulah (Jackson) Norris, had no issue. He left a will in which he made ample provision for his wife, giving her all his household furniture, books, maps and papers—also the rents and proceeds of his real estate, together with certain mortgages. To Lucy Kelsey, whose maiden name was Moore, he gave $500, to be paid after the death of his wife; to Elizabeth Niles, then under the charge of Mrs. John Dickinson, $500; to Mary P. Dickinson, who lived in his family when she was single and served as his secretary, $400; to Deborah Ann Archer, $400; to his brother-in-law, Mordecai M. Jackson and his wife, $450. The remainder of his estate he divided among the sons and daughters of William Bache. John Norris Bache was constituted his sole executor and trustee; and it was provided that in the event of his death before business was settled up, his brother, William Bache, was to succeed him. The latter lived for years in the Norris family, but was never legally adopted. The will was dated at "Dickinson’s Mill," September 16, 1848. And here Mr. Norris died, February 10, 1849, aged eight years, ten months and eleven days. Mrs. Norris also died here, April 12, 1853, aged seventy-five years.
WILLIAM BACHE, SR., was one of the prominent early settlers of Wellsboro, Pennsylvania. He was born in Bromsgrove, England, December 22, 1771, and immigrated to America in 1793. For a short time after his arrival he resided in Philadelphia, where he engaged in the business of cutting profiles. He then made a tour of the United States and the West Indies, following the same art. Returning to Philadelphia, he was married there November 28, 1811, to Miss Anna Page, and soon after they made a journey to Wellsboro to visit John Norris, who was an old acquaintance of Mr. Bache. Norris at that time was deeply interested with Benjamin Wistar Morris in founding the town, and as they were offering strong inducements to settlers, Mr. Bache, in 1812, decided to take up his residence there. He immediately purchased town lots, and lands in Delmar, under the easy terms which were offered, and prepared to engage in business. There being no store in the village, he put up a building and became one of the first merchants in Wellsboro. His store and dwelling stood on the southwest side of the present public square. Dealing in mercantile goods was attended with many difficulties at that time. Mr. Bache purchased his goods in Philadelphia, and they were hauled to Wellsboro in wagons overland. Uncle Eben Murry, one of the slaves of William Hill Wells, whom he had manumitted when he (Wells) left the county, was one of the teamsters.
Shrewd, sagacious, industrious and energetic, Mr. Bache prospered as a business man and steadily accumulated property. While doing a kind act in assisting a neighbor to cut a supply of fuel, a tree fell on him, whereby he lost his right arm. Through care he recovered from the accident, learned to write with his left hand, and successfully continued his business. April 10, 1822, he was appointed postmaster of Wellsboro, and held the office for over twenty-three years. He was one of the original trustees mentioned in the act incorporating the Wellsboro Academy, and was a member of the committee selected to prepare a plan for the building, and for many years was identified with, and took an active interest in, the success and prosperity of the institution.
Mr. Bache and wife had six children, three sons and three daughters, viz: William, Laugher, Sarah, who married Judge Robert G. White; John N., Harriet, who married Charles Minor, of Honesdale, and Anna, who became the wife of A. P. Cone. They gave their children the advantages of education, which were liberal for the times, and they became men and women of character and position in life. Mr. Bache died July 9, 1845, in the seventy-fifth year of his age. His wife, who was born at Burlington, New Jersey, November 6, 1783, died December 1, 1856.
WILLIAM BACHE, JR., was born in Wellsboro, October 26, 1812. He received his education in the schools of his native town and learned the profession of land surveying, in which he became quite proficient. When about the age of twenty-six years he became the agent of several large landed estates, which enabled him to acquire a vast fund of information relating to land surveys. For many years he was engaged as an active surveyor in the field, and as a dealer in farming and timbered lands.
Mr. Bache was first married December 25, 1839, to Mary Elizabeth Nichols, daughter of Archibald Nichols, and sister of the late Judge Nichols. By her he had one daughter, Sarah, who became the wife of Alfred Nichols. His wife, Mary Elizabeth, died January 28, 1845, and in 1849 he married Adeline Robinson, sister of the late Chester and John L. Robinson. Of his two children by the second marriage but one is living, Mary Adeline, widow of William C. Kress. Mr. Bache’s second wife died October 11, 1852, and he was subsequently married the third time, to Mrs. Lydia Maria Davison, daughter of Palmer Nichols. She died July 2, 1885. There was no issue by this marriage.
In looking back over his long and busy life, Mr. Bache has the proud satisfaction of realizing that he has ever been an energetic, progressive business man. From the beginning of his career of activity he has filled many minor offices of trust, and has always manifested the most generous liberality in whatever was calculated to develop the resources of his native town and county, and therefore promote their success and prosperity. He was treasurer of the Wellsboro Academy for many years; was borough treasurer; manager of the Lawrenceville and Wellsboro Plank Road Company, and the first president of the First National Bank of Wellsboro. For fully fifty years he has been a vestryman in St. Paul’s Protestant Episcopal church, and one of its most liberal supporters. He also took an active part in securing the building of the Lawrenceville and Wellsboro railroad, and all other public enterprises calculated to build up the social and material interests of Wellsboro and the surrounding country. The project to supply the town with the best water that could be secured was originated by him and received his strong financial support. The Willow Hall School project also found in him its most liberal friend; while the substantial Bache Auditorium, erected in 1894, at a cost of $16,000, is a grand monument to his enterprise and public spirit.
It is also a noteworthy fact that Mr. Bache has continuously resided in Wellsboro since his birth, a period of over eighty-four years, and is the oldest living citizen of the town who was born within its limits. When he first saw the light of day Wellsboro was a mere hamlet composed of rude log dwellings, while Tioga county was a comparative wilderness. His boyhood and early manhood were spent among the stirring scenes of pioneer life, and in his profession he has traversed the hills and valleys of Tioga county many times. Fortune has smiled upon him and rewarded him for his toil and industry, and he is now in the evening of his well spent life enjoying all the comforts which an abundance of this world’s goods can procure. He is still active for one who has passed the four score milestone, and save some imperfection in his hearing, is in possession of his mental faculties, and enjoys the relation of reminiscences of bygone days. He is a thorough type of the honest, hardy, industrious and intelligent pioneers of Tioga county, and he views with delight the progress that has been made in every department of individual effort since he was a boy.
ISRAEL MERRICK, JR., was one of the prosperous and progressive pioneers of Tioga county. Of New England ancestry, he was born in the state of Delaware in 1790, whither his parents, Israel Merrick, Sr., and his wife, had removed in search of a home. Not liking the place, and having their attention called to the inducements Morris was holding out for settlers in Wellsboro, they came here about 1805. Israel Merrick, Sr., was a tall, venerable looking man. He was married twice, and died April 30, 1844, aged seventy-eight years. He was buried in Ansonia cemetery. His second wife was a sister-in-law of Justus Dartt, of Charleston township. Israel Merrick, Jr., had three full sisters—Margaret, who married Mordecai Moore; Mary, who married Elmer Bacon, Sr., and Rebecca, who married Daniel Kelsey. Merrick and Charles Moore took their parents to Arkansas over forty years ago, where they died. Charles Moore at one time represented a district of Arkansas in Congress. He died of cholera many years ago. His brother, Merrick Moore, was a quarter-master general in the Confederate service.
Israel Merrick, Jr., was about fifteen years of age when the family came to this county. At that time Wellsboro was mostly dense woods and a part of it a swamp. There was, however, a small clearing of about an acre in the region where John L. Robinson’s house was afterwards built. An incident in the life of Mr. Merrick at that early day is worth relating. At one time he was going from the mill at the Marsh to his home in Delmar, where they first settled, driving a yoke of oxen. Getting belated he took refuge in an abandoned corn-crib which stood near where Mr. Robinson afterwards built his house. The only habitation near this was a rude log cabin on the side of the hill where Judge Morris afterwards built a large farm house. Before going into the crib for the night he chained his oxen outside and built a fire. During the night he, as well as the cattle, were very frightened by the screams of a panther on what is now known as Bache’s hill. The fierce animal scented game in the log hut, but the presence of fire, which was kept brightly burning by the young man, probably deterred it from making the attack. The night thus passed by our young pioneer was a long and dreary one and the "break ‘o day" was gladly welcomed. This incident will serve to show the primitive conditions which existed at that time, as well as illustrate the progress that has been made in less than ninety years.
There were no schools in the county when Israel Merrick, Jr. came here. He had, however, attained the first rudiments of an education before he left his native State; but not content with that, he used to spend long hours after the family had retired for the night in reading and studying, by the light of pine knots, such books as he could obtain. He must have been a very industrious student, for he became a man of much general information, such as is derived from books; was an excellent penman, a keen observer of human action, and was naturally a man of good, sound common sense. He never failed in meeting public expectations in whatever station he was placed. As commissioners’ clerk for over nineteen years, he became widely known, and he commanded the respect of all with whom he came in contact. His clerical career commenced in 1828, and extended to 1847, when he was elected a county commissioner, which office he held three years. Mr. Merrick married Julia A. Erway, who was born December 10, 1808. Their children were: Charles, George W., and Ellis; Maria, wife of Deroy Herrington; Mary, wife of William Mathers; Anna, who married Washington Larrison; Sarah, wife of Hon. Mortimer F. Elliott, and Ellen. George W. is a prominent lawyer of Wellsboro, and a sketch of his life will be found in the chapter devoted to the "Bench and Bar." Mr. Merrick died March 7, 1855, aged sixty-five years, one month and ten days; his wife survived him about thirty-one years, dying March 25, 1886.
MORDECAI M. JACKSON was born at Montgomery Square, near Philadelphia, July 15, 1784. He came with his brother-in-law, John Norris, to the settlement established near the site of Texas, Lycoming county, in 1799, and known as "Morris’ Mills," and in 1804 removed with his parents to Wellsboro. They became discouraged and soon returned to the vicinity of Philadelphia. Young Jackson, however, remained here with friends, grew to manhood, and became a prominent citizen of Wellsboro, where he died September 29, 1861. He married Hannah Iddings, and they had issue: Richard, who was among the first male children born in the settlement; James, Mary P., born June 25, 1814. She lived for several years in the family of John Norris and served as his amanuensis. She married John Dickinson, who was for many years one of the early merchants. He died August 25, 1873, aged fifty-eight, but his venerable widow, who has passed her four score years, still survives and is a charming and instructive conversationalist. She can relate many reminiscences of early days and distinctly remembers hearing the wolves howl at night on the hills surrounding Wellsboro. The other daughter, Deborah Ann, born in 1816, married Dr. Archer, of Maryland.
DANIEL KELSEY was one of the early representative men of Delmar township. He was a native of New Hampshire, born September 7, 1777, came to Tioga county in 1807 and settled on the old Kelsey homestead, now in the southern part of Wellsboro. He was four times married. His first wife was a daughter of John Mathers, a pioneer of Delmar. She bore him one son, John, who learned the printer’s trade in early life, and then went to Wilkes-Barre and studied law. He next removed to New Orleans, whence he wrote a few letters to friends in Wellsboro, but soon afterwards made a voyage up the Mississippi river and never wrote home again. It was learned, however, that between 1840 and 1850 there was a lawyer named John Kelsey in Moniteau county, Missouri, who then occupied a seat on the bench, and the belief gained ground that he was the lost John Kelsey of Wellsboro. This belief was further strengthened by the fact that he left home under the deep displeasure of his father, intending never to have any further communication with him or the family. In this declaration he exhibited the same unbending spirit that characterized his father. Daniel Kelsey’s second wife was Miss Kilburn, a sister of Judge Ira Kilburn, of Lawrenceville. His third wife was Rebecca Merrick, a daughter of Israel Merrick, Sr., whom he married January 2, 1825. She became the mother of six children, as follows: Letetia, wife of John English, of Delmar; Daniel, Benjamin F. and Israel M., all deceased; Robert, a resident of Wellsboro, and Anna R., teacher in a government school at Fort Wrangle, Alaska. Mrs. Kelsey died January 16, 1846, and he married for his fourth wife Dinah Ogden. Mr. Kelsey died April 17, 1863. He was a man of marked individuality and had his own way of doing things. On January 25, 1813, he was appointed a justice of the peace for Delmar township, and held the office nearly thirty years. Many interesting reminiscences of him have been preserved which show the character of the man. He lived on a farm not included within the original borough limits. In the course of time he came to be familiarly known as "Squire Kelsey," a title he bore until the close of his life. As early as 1817 he was elected one of the trustees of Wellsboro Academy, and was re-elected in 1819 and 1820. In 1821, when the number of trustees was reduced to one-half, he was dropped from the list, and he was not again elected until 1826. He was twice re-elected, in 1827 and 1828. It is said that he was liberal in his religious views, leaning towards a generous toleration and opposed to bigotry. He was an industrious, thrifty farmer, close and calculating, but just in his dealings. No man ever accused him of dishonesty or of attempting to wrong his fellow-man. He was very decided in his opinions, stern and unbending with his children, and believed that the true way to prepare them for the realities of life was to teach them morality, industry and economy. Another of his peculiarities was that he was a man of one price always. If wheat, corn, oats and potatoes were scarce and the price high, the poor man could buy of him at his own price, a happy medium between high and low. If it was a year of plenty, still he had his own price, and would not reduce it if he had to keep his hay and grain over and feed his potatoes to his stock. In times of high prices it was only the poor and needy who could buy of him. No one could buy for speculation. The home farm is now occupied by the widow of his son, Benjamin F.
ROBERT KELSEY, son of Daniel and Rebecca (Merrick) Kelsey, was born in Wellsboro, June 30, 1834, and was reared to manhood on the old homestead. In June, 1861, he enlisted in Company E, of the "Bucktail" regiment, served twenty months, and was then discharged on account of disability. He participated in the battles of Mechanicsville and Drainsville. In September, 1864, he re-enlisted in the Two Hundred and Seventh Pennsylvania Volunteers, in which he served until the close of the war. Upon his return to Wellsboro he engaged in the hardware business with D. P. and William Roberts, for about a year and a half. He then settled upon a part of the homestead which he owned until 1892, when he sold it and has since been living retired. Mr. Kelsey was married November 13, 1866, to Mary E. Trull, a daughter of Robert and Sarah W. Trull. His wife died March 23, 1879, and on January 6, 1883, he married Mary Nancy Wilcox, a daughter of John H. and Sarah Wilcox. In politics, Mr. Kelsey is a Republican, and served as supervisor of Delmar in 1869. In religion, he inclines to the Adventist belief.
ALPHEUS CHENEY, one of the pioneers of Wellsboro, and the first sheriff of Tioga county, was born at Sturbridge, Massachusetts, April 27, 1769, a son of Joseph and Mercilva Cheney. He graduated at Dartmouth College in 1795, and served for a short time in the United States army. In 1803 we find him employed as a bookkeeper at Painted Post, New York, but in March, 1804, he removed to what is now Addison, where he was town clerk in 1805. He married Ann Eliza Bartill, and in 1808 sold his interests at Addison and removed to Wellsboro, where he purchased lots, 10, 12 and 18 on the original plot of that town. He was the first hotel-keeper within the village limits, the third county treasurer, and the first sheriff of the county. About 1825 he removed to Lebanon, Pennsylvania.
UNCLE EBEN AND AUNT HETTY MURRY.—In the sketch of William Bache, Sr., reference is made to Eben Murry, as one of the early teamsters who hauled goods from Philadelphia for him. Eben and his wife Hetty were slaves, brought here by William Hill Wells about the beginning of the century. When Mr. Wells and his family gave up the struggle to found a home in the wild region of Delmar, they manumitted their slaves and gave them their cleared land and log cabins as reward for their faithfulness. Regarding the story of the gift of a home to these faithful colored people, one authority says:
He not only gave them the farm, suitable farming implements and teams, but also the household furniture, which was very valuable for those times. Tradition says that their white neighbors never rested till the freedmen were disposed of everything and they were finally indebted to the kindness of John Norris for the little homes where they ended their days. They were a very superior class of colored people. Aunt Hetty, it was said, was a daughter of an African princess, and Uncle Eben was a born gentleman, most dinified and courteous in appearance and manners.
In the northeast corner of the Wellsboro Cemetery the tombstone of these two remarkable colored people may be seen. It bears the incriptions: "Eben Murry, died May 6, 1864, aged 96. Hetty, his wife, died July 4, 1868, aged 99. Colored people sixty-four years residents of Delmar and Wellsboro, and highly respected by all."
"Uncle Eben and Aunt Hetty" had six children, two sons and four daughters. The eldest, a daughter, was born May 4, 1804, probably in Delmar, soon after their parents came from Delaware. Of the six only one now survives—"Betty Murry," as she is familiarly called. She was born in Delmar township, in March, 1816, and from her appearance bids fair to live as long as her parents. She was trained as a house servant and cook by Mrs. James Lowrey, and became very proficient. She excels as a caterer and manager at weddings and social parties, and her services are in constant demand by the best classes. Betty was present at the wedding of Dr. Joseph P. Morris to Sarah E., daughter of Judge Samuel W. Morris, in 1836, and officiated in the same capacity at the wedding of their daughter, Catherine, many years afterwards. She is intelligent and ladylike in her manners, and is greatly respected. She cared for her aged parents thirteen years, and when they died she had a marble tablet erected to preserve their names and memories. Although eighty-one years old she does not show her age, and is, apparently, as active and able to pursue her calling as she was forty years ago.
JAMES LOCK, who was born in New Hampshire, may 18, 1790, came to Wellsboro in 1815, attracted there no doubt by the inducements held out to settlers. At that time there were but five frame buildings in the place, the balance being log structures of the most primitive character. Mr. Lock was a silversmith, but he did not long pursue his trade, for there was no demand for his skill in that line. He was a natural mechanic, however, and soon found other business. During the building of the second court house, in 1835, he made the doors and kept the tools of the stone cutters in order. He subsequently established a gun shop, the first of the kind in the village, and manufactured a very excellent rifle. He was a successful hunter and angler. On his eighty-third anniversary, and the sixtieth of his marriage, the citizens of Wellsboro made him a formal call and presented him and his estimable wife with a handsome Bible as a token of respect. Mr. Lock died March 14, 1874, in the eighty-fourth year of his age.
BENJAMIN B. SMITH was one of the pioneers of Wellsboro, Tioga county. He came here from New England in 1819, and taught in the Old Academy several years. We find him appointed a justice of the peace in June, 1822, which office he filled for a long period. In 1827 he founded the Phoenix, the second newspaper established in Wellsboro, the history of which is given in a previous chapter. He continued his connection with the Phoenix until 1834, when he sold his interest in the plant. From 1833 to 1836 he filled the office of register and recorder, was a prominent and enterprising man, and always took an active interest in public affairs. Finally engaging in the mercantile business, he became one of the leading merchants of Wellsboro. The firm of B. B. Smith & Son, which existed up to the beginning of the war, is well remembered by the people of the county. Mr. Smith was married in Wellsboro to Margaret Christenot, a native of Switzerland. They reared a family of eight children, named as follows: Ellen, deceased; George Dwight, who was killed in the battle of South Mountain; Frances A., wife of Edward Maynard, of Kansas; Samuel R., who died at Paola, Kansas, June 9, 1896; Henry B., a merchant of Osawatomie, Kansas; Lydia A., wife of Jeremiah Wood, of Tacoma, Washington; Charles B., a resident of Kansas, and Azubah R., deceased wife of Bliss Chapin, of Osawatomie. Mr. Smith spent the remaining years of his life in Wellsboro, dying October 21, 1868, in his seventy-eighth year. His widow removed to Osawatomie, Kansas, where she died some years later. Both are kindly remembered by a large circle of friends.
GEORGE DWIGHT SMITH was born in Wellsboro, Tioga county, July 26, 1825, a son of Benjamin B. and Margaret Smith. He obtained a good education, and later joined his father as a member of the firm of B. B. Smith & Son. When the war broke out he became active in support of the government and assisted in raising Company I, Forty-fifth Pennsylvania Volunteers. He went to the front as first lieutenant of that company, but soon after was appointed assistant adjutant general of the Second Brigade, First Division, Ninth Army Corps. Lieutenant Smith was killed at the battle of South Mountain September 14, 1862, and thus ended the promising career of a gallant soldier and patriot. On February 7, 1855, he married Miss N. Azubah Robinson, daughter of the late John L. Robinson. Mr. Smith was a member of the Presbyterian church of Wellsboro, was an active worker in that body, and was superintendent of the Sunday-school when he went to the front in defense of the flag. He was an upright, progressive and enterprising citizen, and always did his full share towards the social and material development of his native county. His widow is also a member of the Presbyterian church and one of the most liberal contributors towards the erection of the new church building in Wellsboro. She is an ardent supporter of all military society movements that have for their object the welfare of the old soldiers or their families.
THE NICHOLS FAMILY.—Archibald Nichols came to Wellsboro in 1829, from Chenango county, New York, whither his son, Levi I., had preceded him the year previous. Enos, another son, followed them in 1833. The father was a stout, heavy man, while Levi was the reverse. Enos resembled his father very much in general appearance. The mother, Mrs. Betsey Nichols, was a fine looking, well built woman, domestic and home-loving in her tastes and disposition and much respected by her acquaintances. There was one daughter in the family, Mary Elizabeth, who was the youngest. She was born in March, 1816, married William Bache, Jr., and died January 23, 1845. She was the second female school teacher under the common school system. Mr. Nichols and his son Levi bought timber lands on Pine creek when they first came to Wellsboro, and soon after property in the village. They also bought a stock of goods and opened a general store on the east corner of Main and Crafton streets. The building in which their store was kept was burned, and among other things destroyed was the old Ramage press on which the Phoenix newspaper was printed. In those early times it cost something to get goods into Wellsboro. Mr. Nichols used to haul all his goods from Utica by wagon, to which place they been brought from New York City by steamboat and canal. Of course the percentage above the selling price along the line of the Erie canal was considerable and the people of Wellsboro had to pay a high price for their store goods, although Mr. Nichols’ prices were a great improvement on those of his predecessors. Before the building of the Erie canal all mercantile goods were brought in wagons from Philadelphia to Williamsport and then hauled over the mountains to Wellsboro and sold at enormous prices. When the Academy was built, as high as twenty-five cents a pound was paid for nails, and other things in proportion, except lumber.
When Archibald Nichols came to Wellsboro he was only forty-three years old and his son Levi twenty. The father and son were much alike in one respect. They both loved amusement; but in the character of their amusement they differed very materially. The son loved music and was a natural musician, while the father loved the same only as it helped one to keep step in the dance. The son loved the quiet, still hunt in the forest and the gentle tread along the trout streams near Wellsboro. The father had little taste in that direction. In a word, Archibald Nichols was a very genial man, a pleasant companion, and a good member of society. He lived in Wellsboro only about nine years, dying in November, 1838, aged nearly fifty-three. His wife died April 21, 1854, in her sixtieth year.
ENOS NICHOLS, the youngest son, was born May 18, 1814, and died August 12, 1844. He was a very genial, whole-souled young man, full of mirth and frolic, and had he lived until he was fifty-three, as his father did, he would have been his very counterpart. When he died he had a host of friends to mourn his early taking off.
LEVI I. NICHOLS, who was the last of the original stock in the march to the grave, was best known of the family, and was in all respects a most worthy member of society. He was for many years one of the trustees of the Wellsboro Academy, and generally while on the board its secretary. He was also for some time its treasurer. He was on the common school board nearly all the time from its organization, September 17, 1834, until about 1850, acting either as secretary or treasurer most of this period. Mr. Nichols was appointed justice of the peace June 8, 1836. In March, 1850, he was appointed an associate judge and served until November, 1851.
Judge Nichols was married on January 4, 1832, to Sarah J. Brown, daughter of Thomas Brown, of Oxford, Chenango county, New York. She was born at Northumberland, Pennsylvania, May 1, 1814, while her parents were temporarily residing at that place, her father being associated with Theodore Burr, the famous bridge builder of early days, in the erection of bridges in New York and Pennsylvania. At the time of their marriage there was but one carriage in the Wellsboro region, and that was owned by William Eberenz, of Delmar, who kindly loaned it to Mr. Nichols to fetch his bride to Wellsboro. The distance was about 150 miles and it took the young couple several days to make the journey. In 1833 they commenced housekeeping in a modest home erected by Mr. Nichols on the lot now occupied by the residence of Judge Williams. Of thirteen children born to them, seven are living, viz: Mrs. Mary E. Lamb, Mrs. Henry W. Williams, Mrs. B. F. Clayton, Mrs. Walter Sherwood, Enos G., Chester and Henry. Judge Nichols died in Wellsboro, November 15, 1868, in his fifty-ninth year. His wife survived until May 7, 1896, dying at the home of her daughter, Mrs. Walter Sherwood, with whom she had lived for the past ten years. Both were adherents of the Protestant Episcopal church. Mrs. Nichols was a kind, charitable and benevolent woman, one of that noble band of pioneers to whose patience, courage and industry Tioga county largely owes its present prosperity.
JONAH BREWSTER, a son of Nathan Brewster, was born in Connecticut, and located in Susquehanna county, Pennsylvania, in the year 1812, where he became quite prominent in political affairs. He was collector of taxes at Bridgewater, and subsequently clerk and commissioner of Susquehanna county, and served four years in the House and four years in the Senate. In 1829 he came to Tioga county and embarked in merchandising at Tioga, which he continued until 1831, when he was appointed prothonotary and register and recorder of the county. removing to Wellsboro he filled those offices for six years, and was in April, 1840, appointed associate judge, which office he filled two terms. He also served twice as Democratic presidential elector. In 1838 he purchased a farm in Delmar township, upon which he died in 1838. Judge Brewster was married five times and reared a family of eleven children, only three of whom survive, viz: George A., of Charleston township; Alexander S., of Wellsboro, and Jonas S., a resident of New Orleans.
CHESTER ROBINSON was for over half a century one of the most successful and best known merchants, lumbermen and bankers of northern Pennsylvania. Born in Hartwick, Otsego county, New York, August 14, 1807, a son of Jesse and Abiah Robinson, his youth was passed in his native place, where he assisted his father in operating a tannery. On the 6th of January, 1830, he married Lodoiska Bowen, and in the spring of 1835 came to Wellsboro, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, and entered into partnership with his brother, John L. Robinson, who had purchased the store of Samuel Dickinson the preceding year. With the passing years the firm of C. & J. L. Robinson developed and enlarged the business, and carried on the most extensive mercantile trade in Tioga county up to 1863, when they gave up merchandising to embark in banking. Soon after their settlement in Wellsboro they purchased timber lands on Pine creek and engaged in lumbering. This branch of the business was under the personal supervision of Chester, to whose keen foresight, conservative management and unremitting industry was due much of the success attained. They continued the lumber business until 1862, and the following year abandoned merchandising and began the preliminary steps which resulted in the founding of the First National Bank of Wellsboro in 1864, to the upbuilding of which institution they afterwards devoted their entire attention. The larger part of the stock was taken by the Robinson brothers, who continued to control the bank’s policy as long as they lived. They were its guiding spirits, to whose sound judgment, strict financial integrity and watchful care was principally due its success. They were not only life-long business associates, but were also noted for their brotherly affection and loyalty toward each other. This sympathetic relation, of a quality above that usually implied by the fraternal tie, was marked by the strongest proofs of mutual confidence, and continued unbroken throughout the years of close companionship until finally severed by death. About 1880 Chester retired from active participation in business affairs, and devoted the remaining years of his life to the enjoyment of his home and ample fortune, though he was a daily visitor at the bank until failing health confined him to the house. Surrounded by every comfort that wealth could give, and solaced by the tender care and affection of his children, he passed the autumn of his life in quiet peace and happiness, dying on the 31st of December, 1890, at the ripe age of over eighty-three years.
Mr. Robinson’s first wife, Lodoiska, died March 16, 1843, leaving two children, George Chester, and Juliet, the recently deceased widow of the late M. M. Converse, of Wellsboro. The son, George Chester, was born in Hartwick, New York, August 9, 1833, and died at his father’s home in Wellsboro, September 21, 1863, while entering on a life of very bright promise. He graduated from Yale College in 1856, where he had given proof of marked ability in composition and oratory. On leaving Yale he studied in the New York Theological Seminary until the spring of 1857, when he became pastor of the First Methodist Episcopal Church of Brooklyn. In August, 1858, he married Miss Mary Stevens, daughter of Dr. Abel Stevens, a prominent Methodist divine, and the following spring became pastor of Union Chapel, Cincinnati, Ohio. A year later his health, frail from boyhood, failed, and he went to Europe, where he spent two years in travel and judicious study. Returning to Cincinnati in June, 1862, with apparently restored health, he resumed his pastoral relations, but was soon again prostrated by his old malady, consumption, from which he never recovered. Mr. Robinson was endowed with a mental organization of unusual power and delicacy, and was a fine classical scholar and thoroughly conversant with the best literature of Europe and America.
On the 20th of June, 1848, Chester Robinson married Miss Mary E. Barber, a daughter of Robert Barber, of Columbia, Lancaster county, Pennsylvania. She was born in Columbia, March 5, 1816, and died in Wellsboro May 14, 1878, leaving one daughter, Mary Barber Robinson, who still occupies the old family home. Mrs. Robinson was noted for her nobility of heart and true Christian character. In early life she united with the Methodist Episcopal church, and was ever after a faithful and helpful member and a liberal supporter of religious and charitable enterprises. A friend to the poor, no one applied to her in vain, and none left her without substantial assistance and encouragement. As a wife and mother she was a noble example of those womanly virtues which won her the love and respect of the community in which her entire married life was passed.
Mr. Robinson was an exceedingly modest man, and never sought or cared for public office, but he always took great interest in the growth and prosperity of Wellsboro. A Republican from the organization of that party, he ever manifested a deep interest in its principles and success, and was quite active in local politics. He possessed a kindly heart, a genial, companionable temperament, and many other estimable qualities as a citizen and neighbor. His venerable head, whitened by the snows of eighty-three winters, was laid low on the last day of the old year. So closed a long and prosperous career, marked by the strictest integrity and highest business honor.
JOHN L. ROBINSON, for nearly sixty years one of the prominent and enterprising citizens of Tioga county, was born at Hartwick, Otsego county, New York, January 6, 1813, a son of Jesse and Abiah Robinson, pioneers of that place. He obtained a good common school education and early developed those habits of industry upon which his subsequent successful business career was built up to its full fruition. At the age of fourteen he began clerking in one of the leading stores in Otego, New York, which vocation he continued for a few years and then opened a store at Ninevah, New York, where he carried on business up to his majority. Having in the meantime accumulated a small capital, he came to Wellsboro, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, in 1834, purchased the store of Samuel Dickinson, and embarked in general merchandising. At that time the village contained only about 500 inhabitants, while the surrounding country was very sparsely settled and just emerging from its primitive conditions. In the spring of 1835 his brother, Chester, joined him, and the firm of C. & J. L. Robinson came into existence. They soon began to realize the importance of the lumber interest, and securing timer lands engaged in lumbering. John L. attended to the financial part of the business, while Chester gave his personal supervision to the outside operations. With characteristic energy they continued developing this great industry, in connection with the mercantile business, until they became widely known as one of the most substantial and reliable firms in northern Pennsylvania.
Retiring from the lumber business in 1862, they continued merchandising for a period, but also turned their attention to the establishment and up-building of other enterprises. In May, 1864, John L. became the moving spirit in the organization of the First National Bank of Wellsboro, and its financial solidity and prominence was subsequently recognized by his election as the second president of that institution, a position he filled continuously for twenty-eight years. After the bank was founded he took full charge and acted as cashier for period, until the business was in proper running order. Under his energetic, careful and judicious guidance the First National grew in strength and popularity and won a high place among the solid financial institutions of the State. Mr. Robinson was a man of commendable public spirit and gave his support to every movement which he believed would advance the general welfare of the community. His conscientious devotion to duty, his sterling integrity, his high standing in business circles and his generous support of the church, won for him the confidence and respect of all classes.
In religion, Mr. Robinson was a member of St. Paul’s Protestant Episcopal church from its organization up to the time of his death. He was one of the founders and organizers of that congregation, and for more than half a century a vestryman and senior warden. Josiah Emery, in his "Recollections of Early Life in Wellsboro," written in 1879, says: "John L. Robinson was the most efficient citizen in procuring the erection of the first church ever built in Wellsboro, St. Paul’s church, now standing. In the building of the church and the building and re-building of the rectory, no man has, I think, paid on the whole as much as Mr. Robinson." In early manhood he was a Democrat, later became a Whig, and on the formation of the Republican party he united with that organization and continued one of its most loyal supporters to the close of his life. He served as treasurer of Tioga county in 1844-45, but he cared little for public office, preferring to devote his energies and talents to the development of his adopted home and thus assist in the social and material prosperity of the county.
Mr. Robinson was married in 1832, to Miss Azubah Bowen, a daughter of Hezekiah Bowen, of Hartwick, New York, to which union was born seven children, four of whom grew to maturity as follows: J. Fred, who died April 28, 1885, aged fifty-one years; N. Azubah, widow of Lieut. George Dwight Smith, killed at the battle of South Mountain; Eugene H., who served as cashier of First National Bank for several years and died September 235, 1876, and James M., president of that institution from January, 1893, up to his death, August 6, 1896. Mrs. Robinson was a zealous Episcopalian from the organization of St. Paul’s church, with which she united at that time, and died June 20, 1888. Five years later, on January 11, 1893, her husband died, and was borne to the grave in Wellsboro Cemetery, where a substantial granite monument marks their last resting place.
JESSE MORSE ROBINSON, late president of the First National Bank of Wellsboro, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, was born in that borough May 17, 1853, and died August 6, 1896, having spent his entire life in his native town. He was the youngest son of John L. Robinson, inherited many of the strongest traits in his father’s character, and early developed an aptitude for business affairs not often found in so young a man. Educated in the Wellsboro High School, the Wesleyan Seminary and the Bryant and Stratton Business College, of New York City, he began clerking at the age of fifteen in the general store of C. & J. L. Robinson, and later entered a bookstore controlled by the same firm. In 1872 he became book-keeper in the First National Bank of Wellsboro, and after the death of his brother, Eugene H., in September, 1876, he was promoted to the position of cashier. This office he held until the death of his father in January, 1893, when he was elected president of that institution. During the latter years of his father’s life much of the responsibility in the general management of the bank devolved upon him, and upon his accession to the office of president he found very few duties with which he was not already familiar. In general business affairs he kept pace with the times, and conducted the business under his charge with more than ordinary breadth and liberality. While recognized as a careful and conservative investor, he never hesitated to follow his own judgment when once formed, and his timely assistance was appreciated by many a business man of Tioga county weighed down by financial troubles. Under the most trying circumstances he was cool and firm and it was seldom that he failed to untangle the most difficult financial matters.
Mr. Robinson was married October 15, 1873, to Ella Crowl, of Wellsboro, who died February 2, 1884, leaving two sons, Eugene H., and Frank C. On April 25, 1887, he was again united in marriage, with Hattie M. Willis, eldest daughter of Mrs. Caroline D. Willis, of Wellsboro, to which union were born two children, Dorothy and Jesse Morse. The widow and four children reside in Wellsboro. Mr. Robinson was a generous man and gave liberally of his means to charitable objects and business enterprises, besides giving his time and services as a director in many business undertakings. Upon the death of his father he came into the possession of a large estate, but this did not change his character. He was still the same plain, kind, modest and unobtrusive man as before. His daily life was pure, his conversation always chaste, and his inherent charity never permitted him to criticise his neighbor. In his home he was the ever kind, indulgent husband and loving father, while even the domestic pets of the family knew and welcomed him as their friend.
In politics, Mr. Robinson was a strong Republican, always took a deep interest in the success of his party, and served as treasurer of Wellsboro for about ten years preceding his death, and also filled the same office in the school board. He was a stockholder and director in the Wellsboro Water Company and a charter member of Alert Hose Company. He was a prominent member of the Masonic and I. O. O. F. societies, and a Knight Templar in Tyagaghton Commandery. In reliogion, he was a life-long adherent of St. Paul’s Protestant church of Wellsboro, and one of the largest contributors to its support, as well as to the building fund of the new church edifice now in course of erection. The vestry of St. Paul’s church adopted appropriate resolutions on his death, from which we copy the following tribute:
The death of Mr. Robinson has brought a deep sense of loss to a large circle of friends in Wellsboro and beyond, but especially to the parish to which he belonged and the vestry of which he was the efficient treasurer. We revere his memory for the interest he took in the welfare of the parish; for the careful attention he gave to the duties that devolved upon him as vestryman and treasurer; for his valuable advice and wise counsel; for the courtesy, cordiality and enthusiasm which he brought to bear upon every cause that he espoused, and for the upright character and unsullied name that he bore through life. We shall hold in grateful remembrance the financial aid which he gave to the parish and his bountiful contributions to the new church. We shall look back upon him as a Christian gentleman, an efficient parish officer, a trusted friend and brother, whose death we shall always mourn and wose memory we shall ever hold in affectionate esteem.
JOHN W. BAILEY was born in Charleston township, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, November 27, 1824, eldest son of Roswell and Julia A. (Rockwell) Bailey, pioneers of this county. His boyhood days were spent on his father’s farm and his primary education was obtained in the common schools of the district. But sixteen years old when his father died, he succeeded him in charge of the old homestead. In later years he purchased about 600 acres of land and engaged in cattle dealing, probably buying and shipping more stock than any other man in the northern tier during that period. In 1870 he removed to Wellsboro, where he soon became one of the prominent and enterprising citizens. He dealt extensively in agricultural implements and lumber for twenty years, and always gave the most liberal credits to his patrons. Mr. Bailey was a member of the firm that established the tannery at Stokesdale, and was an active agent in the building of the Corning, Cowanesque and Antrim, and the Pine Creek railroads, being a director of the latter company. He was also a director in the United States Glass Company, and one of the organizers of the First National Bank of Wellsboro, in which institution he was an honored and trusted director until his death. Always ready and willing to take a leading part in every public enterprise which he believed would promote the interest of Wellsboro, and ever on the alert to encourage any project that might add to the general welfare of his native county, Mr. Bailey won the admiration, respect and confidence of the whole people. He was eminently adapted to command the co-operation and support of his fellowmen, as he always went into whatever he undertook with earnestness, enthusiasm and confidence, thus inspiring others with his own sentiments. Possessing unbounded public spirit, whole-souled generosity and broad charity, he never turned a deaf ear to the cry of suffering or distress. A warm, consistent friend of the working classes, he was honored and trusted by them to the close of his life. While accumulating a large estate, he gave liberally to religion, charity and education, and was one of the most generous citizens of Wellsboro throughout his long and active business career. Mr. Bailey wielded a wide influence in the local councils of the Democratic party, and was a stalwart in his fealty to its principles and candidates. He was chairman of the county committee a number of years, represented the county in several state conventions, and was a delegate to the national convention at Chicago in 1892. He served in the borough council several terms, and also filled the offices of burgess and school director, always taking a deep interest in the growth of the public school system.
On Christmas Day, 1843, Mr. Bailey married Margaret L. Lewis, a daughter of Thomas Lewis, of Charleston township. She was born October 17, 1827, and died November 19, 1883, after a happy companionship of nearly forty years. They became the parents of twelve children, ten of whom grew to an adult age as follows: Eva A., wife of Dr. M. L. Bacon, of Wellsboro; Edward, deceased; Llewellyn L., of Wellsboro; Ada B., deceased wife of Louis Doumaux; Morton S., a resident of Colorado; Lloyd J., of California; Leon O., who lives in Indiana; Lee M., deceased; Fred W., a resident of Denver, and Mildred L. On November 28, 1889, Mr. Bailey married Mrs. Julia McClelland, a daughter of Michael Dunkle, of Jersey Shore, who yet survives. He died July 12, 1892, soon after his return from the Democratic National Convention, and was buried with Masonic honors, as he was a member of Ossea Lodge, No. 317, F. & A. M. The whole community sincerely mourned the death of one whose place could not be easily filled—a man whose warm, friendly greeting and substantial assistance brought sunshine into many a weary and discouraged heart. On the day of his funeral the stores and shops in Wellsboro were closed and a large delegation of workingmen marched in the funeral procession as a mark of respect to his memory.
LLEWELLYN L. BAILEY was born in Charleston township, Tioga county, January 30, 1849, a son of John W. Bailey, and grandson of Roswell Bailey. He was educated in the public schools and at Mansfield State Normal, and when seventeen years of age entered a drug store in Blossburg, where he clerked three years. He then came to Wellsboro and worked for his father two years, at the end of which time he established a feed and supply store at Antrim. Two years later he sold out and entered the first National Bank of Wellsboro as a book-keeper, which position he filled from 1873 to 1882. In 1880 he was elected a director and served until July, 1896. He was made assistant cashier in 1882 and acted as such until January 1, 1893, when he became a cashier, and occupied that position until October, 1894, when he resigned to take charge of the estate of Philip Williams. In January, 1897, he was elected vice-president of the Wellsborough National Bank. Mr. Bailey married Elizabeth C. Hill, a daughter of Rev. H. F. Hill, of Lindley, New York. Seven children blessed this union, named as follows: Mabel E., deceased; Arthur L., book-keeper for Mathers, Graves & Company; Harry F., Margaret L., John W., Edith A. and Catherine E. Mrs. Bailey died June 11, 1888, and he was again married to Carrie J. Hastings, a daughter of E. H. Hastings, of Wellsboro. The family are adherents of the Baptist church, and in politics, Mr. Bailey is a Democrat. He has filled the offices of school director and councilman for two terms each, and is one of the enterprising and progressive citizens of his native county.
HON. MORTON S. BAILEY was born in Charleston township, Tioga county, July 2, 1855, a son of John W. Bailey, and was reared on the homestead farm. Removing to Wellsboro with his parents in 1870, he attended the Wellsboro High School and later followed teaching for a short period. He graduated at Lafayette College, Easton, Pennsylvania, in 1880, and soon after went to Colorado, where he began at once the study of law, and was admitted to practice in August, 1882. He soon developed into political prominence and was elected to the State Senate by the Democratic party in a district at that time largely Republican. After serving one session, he was elected in the autumn of 1891, judge of the Eleventh Judicial district and resigned his seat in the Senate to go upon the bench. Judge Bailey was re-elected in 1894, as the candidate of the Democrats and Populists. The Eleventh district had heretofore been Republican, and his election twice in succession was high tribute to his worth and popularity. Judge Bailey is recognized in his State as a lawyer of solid legal attainments and unquestioned integrity, and he has won a high reputation for the impartiality and fairness of his decisions. In the fall of 1896 he was the Democratic nominee for governor of Colorado, but failed of election.
LEON O. BAILEY was born in Charleston township, Tioga county, June 21, 1857, and was educated in the public schools of Wellsboro and at Cornell University. He later removed to Indianapolis, Indiana, where he studied law in the office of Baker, Hord & Hendricks, and was admitted to the bar of Marion county at the age of twenty-three. In 1886 he was elected to the State Senate, as a Democrat, and served one term as assistant to the attorney general of Indiana. He was subsequently the Democratic nominee for Congress in that district, and also served as city solicitor of Indianapolis, in which city he still resides.
JULIUS M. BAILEY, second son of Clark W. Bailey, was born in Charleston township, Tioga county, March 30, 1835, was educated in the common schools, and has followed agriculture the greater portion of his life. He also operated for a time a saw and grist-mill in his native township. On February 11, 1856, he married Eunice Benedict, a daughter of Marcus and Lucy (Jennings) Benedict, of Charleston township, to which union have been born five children, viz: Ransom W., Alice E., deceased wife of Garrett Campbell; Flora A., who died in infancy; Lucy B., wife of Frank Rockwell, and Lora V., wife of Peter L. Abrams. In January, 1893, Mr. Bailey and his son, ransom W., purchased their present business in Wellsboro, and in April, 1894, he removed his family to that borough, where he has since carried on the wagon, farm implement and harness business.
RANSOM W. BAILEY, eldest child of Julius M. Bailey, was born in Charleston township, Tioga county, October 24, 1857, and obtained his education in the public schools and the State Normal School of Mansfield. He afterwards taught school for two years, and for the following three years worked on his father’s farm, and then purchased a farm in Charleston township, upon which he lived seven years. Forming a partnership with his uncle, Clark B. Bailey, he went to Elkland and engaged in the foundry and agricultural implement business, which he followed three years. On January 1, 1893, he and his father purchased their present business in Wellsboro, where they have since been engaged as dealers in wagons, farm implements, harness, etc. Mr. Bailey was married June 23, 1879, to Lena Partridge, a daughter of Chester and Rachel Partridge, of Charleston township, and has four children, viz: Edith M., Eunice, Julius and Catherine. The family are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, and Mr. Bailey is connected with the Knights of Honor.
ELLIS M. BODINE was born in Jersey Shore, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, January 3, 1801, a son of Isaac and Catherine (Casper) Bodine. His father came from New Jersey with the Mannings in the last decade of the Eighteenth century, and settled in Jersey Shore, Lycoming county, where both he and wife died. Ellis M. was the third in a family of seven children. He grew to manhood in his native town, where he attended the public schools in boyhood, and learned the tanner’s trade with Abram Lawshe, of that place. In 1827 he married Margaret Shearer, a daughter of James Shearer, an early settler of Lycoming county, and in 1828 came to Wellsboro and purchased the Joseph Fish tannery. He conducted this business until 1846, when he erected a larger building, in which he carried on the business up to 1848, when the plant was burned. He then became a farmer, and followed agriculture until five years before his death, when he sold the farm to his son, Abram L., and retired from active labor. Nine children were born of his marriage with Margaret Shearer, as follows: Sarah E., wife of Dr. H. S. Greeno, of Kansas City, Mo.; Isaac M. and Abram L., residents of Wellsboro; Ellis B., who died at the age of fifty-six; Ellen A., widow of Rev. M. F. DeWitt; Catherine A., wife of John W. Wright, of Washington, D. C.; Lewis T., a resident of Chicago; Robert W., of Wellsboro and Margaret A., wife of Charles M. Moore, of Williamsport. Mrs. Bodine died February 3, 1845, in her thirty-third year, having been born March 2, 1812. Mr. Bodine was again married to Aurilla H. Coolidge, a daughter of Amos Coolidge, who bore him two children: Henry F., of Billings, Montana, and Ida, who died at the age of twenty-five years. Mr. Bodine died in Wellsboro, August 14, 1889, in the eighty-ninth year of his age. His widow resides with Abram L. Bodine, of Wellsboro, and is in her eightieth year. Mr. Bodine was active in the cause of education, and the part he took in organizing the first common schools in the borough will be found related in the chapter on the schools of Wellsboro. He was also foremost in promoting the interests of his adopted home, and lived long enough to see it become a thrifty and prosperous town.
ISAAC M. BODINE, a son of Ellis M. and Margaret (Shearer) Bodine, was born in Wellsboro, Tioga county, February 4, 1830, and was educated in the common schools of the borough. From 1848 to 1850 he clerked in the store of C. & J. L. Robinson, and during the years 1850 and 1851 he traveled through the South. Upon his return to Wellsboro he accepted the position of superintendent of the mines at Blossburg, where he had charge of the company store and also acted as paymaster for eight years. In 1860 he returned to Wellsboro and built the saw-mill on Queen street, now operated by S. A. Hiltbold. The same year he also purchased the farm in the northwestern part of the borough upon which he now lives, and during recent years has devoted his attention to farming. Mr. Bodine was married September 9, 1863, to Mary E. Stowell, a daughter of Hezekiah and Anna Stowell, and has two children, viz: Anna, wife of Clarence E. Shumway, of Corning, and Mayne C., and employe of the Fall Brook Coal Company in the same city. Mrs. Bodine died January 26, 1976, aged thirty-five years. In politics, Mr. Bodine was an old line Whig until the organization of the Republican party, with which he has since affiliated. In religion he is an adherent of the Protestant Episcopal church. He has served a number of years as deputy sheriff, fifteen years as a justice of the peace, and has filled various borough offices.
ABRAM L. BODINE was born in Wellsboro, Tioga county, October 9, 1832, and is the second son of Ellis M. and Margaret Bodine. He attended the public schools of his native town, and when twenty-one years of age began clerking in a general store at Blossburg, where he later engaged in merchandising, which he followed about thirteen years. He was also in the hotel business at Blossburg and Morris for a period. In 1882 he purchased the homestead farm from his father, and two years later sold it and bought his present one in Delmar, now occupied by his son, William T., and finally took up his residence in Wellsboro, where he now lives. Mr. Bodine was married February 3, 1855, to Julia A. Tillotson, a daughter of Napoleon B. Tillotson, of Delaware county, New York, born February 3, 1839. Five children are the fruits of this union, viz: Ada M., William T., Frederick M., Catherine J. and Henry E. Mr. and Mrs. Bodine are members of the Presbyterian church. In politics, he is independent, and is connected with the Patrons of Husbandry.
WILLIAM T. BODINE, eldest son of Abram L. Bodine, was born in Wellsboro, Tioga county, August 15, 1861, and obtained a public school education. He has devoted his entire attention to farming, and has charge of his father’s farm in Delmar. On January 4, 1882, he married Ettie G. Wilkins, a daughter of Alva Wilkins, of Morris, and has three children: Alfred W., Josephine M., and Julia C. Mr. Bodine and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, and also of the Patrons of Husbandry. In politics, he is a Democrat, and one of the enterprising farmers of Delmar.
FRED M. BODINE, D. D. S., was born in Wellsboro, Tioga county, September 23, 1867, a son of Abram L. Bodine, and grandson of Ellis M. Bodine. He was educated in the public schools of his native town, and graduated in dentistry from the University of Pennsylvania in the spring of 1892. He opened an office in Wellsboro, in June, 1892, where he has since devoted his attention to the duties of his profession, and has built up a good practice. Dr. Bodine was married on August 23, 1893, to Adelaide Shaw, a daughter of Rev. A. C. Shaw, of Wellsboro. He is a member of the Philadelphia Chapter of the dental fraternity, Delta Sigma Delta, and Edwin T. Darby Dental Society of Philadelphia, and both he and wife are members of the Presbyterian church.
ERASTUS P. DEANE, a native of Petersham, Massachusetts, born November 26, 1809, was a son of Daniel and Jerusha (Houghton) Deane. His father was born in Petersham, in 1771, a son of Jeremiah Deane, a native of Dedham, Massachusetts, and spent about eighty years of his life on a farm in his native State. He died at the home of his son, Erastus P., in Delmar township, Tioga county, October 10, 1866, aged ninety-five years. Erastus P. was reared on a farm, and received an academic education, devoting particular attention to the acquisition of the knowledge of surveying, a business he followed throughout his whole life. In a letter written to a friend in 1879, Mr. Deane tells how he came to settle in Tioga county. He says:
I came to Wellsboro April 25, 1834, very much broken in health. I left Petersham, Worcester county, Massachusetts, with the design of spending the summer somewhere among the Allegheny hills, and fetched up at Wellsboro. As my health was somewhat improved, I agreed to take charge of the Academy three months, designing at that time to go south in the early autumn. The three months’ engagement having expired, and no teacher having been employed, I agreed to continue the school a month and a half longer. At the expiration of that time—October 12, 1834—I was so much mended up that I went into the woods with my compass, where I have been most of the time since.
He had received a fine education, which not only qualified him for teaching, but surveying also. He purchased a farm in Delmar, and June 29, 1837, he married Mary E. McEwen, a native of Philadelphia, eldest daughter of John McEwen, also of Delmar township. He went to work with a will and cleared a fine farm which he took great pleasure in cultivating, as his tastes ran largely to agriculture. His profession of land surveying led him into all the counties of northern and central Pennsylvania, and he acquired much knowledge regarding the location of surveys. One of his great natural gifts was his wonderfully retentive memory. It was in fact phenomenal, and was of invaluable service to him in his profession. His ability to recall dates and data, and to identify marks and localities in the woods, was remarkable; and then to make it doubly sure, his correctness was found to be so absolutely true, that no doubt was entertained when his statement was heard. Mr. Deane lived on his farm in Delmar until 1874, when he moved his family into Wellsboro, where he resided until his death, September 22, 1881, which was caused by injuries sustained by falling into a railroad culvert at Corning, New York, while on his way to Williamsport to attend court. His wife died April 30, 1879. When he came into the county his health was poor, but constant exercise in the pure mountain air, and on his farm, made him strong and vigorous. He was inclined to be reticent, and was somewhat retiring in his disposition, but he was possessed of extensive knowledge and his character was above reproach. He was appointed county surveyor in 1836 and served three years in that office. Mr. Deane and wife were the parents of the following named children: C. Augusta, wife of Henry Bacon, of Havanna, South Dakota; Darius L., of Wellsboro; Daniel A., deceased; Cecil A., a civil engineer of Denver, Colorado; Luella I., Caroline A., and Mary E., deceased wife of A. S. Cooper, of Black River Falls, Wisconsin.
DAVID STURROCK, one of the early and sturdy citizens of Wellsboro, was born in Forfarshire, Scotland, March 7, 1809. He learned the trade of a carpenter and joiner in his native country. When out of his apprenticeship he married Jane Sands, who was born in Scotland, August 25, 1811. She bore him eight children, as follows: A. G., a carpenter and builder of Wellsboro; Robert W., who enlisted in Company F, Fifth Reserve, was promoted to captain, and was killed at the battle of Gaines’ Mills, June 27, 1862, being then in his twenty-sixth year; Margaret, widow of William Roberts, of Wellsboro; Jane, a resident of Port Townsend, Washington; Barbara, wife of Darius L. Deane, of Wellsboro; William D., who enlisted February 24, 1864, in Company A, One Hundred and Eighty-seventh Pennsylvania Volunteers, and who died at David’s Island Hospital, New York, August 20, 1864; Mary, deceased wife of W. J. Bowers, of Horseheads, New York, and George A., a resident of Port Townsend, Washington. In 1833 Mr. Sturrock came to America and in 1834 located in Wellsboro. He was recognized as one of the best practical builders of his time, and was respected for his honesty and integrity. Mrs. Sturrock died August 20, 1881, and he survived her until October 31, 1888.
SALMON SHERWOOD was born in Fairfield county, Connecticut, within the limits of the present city of Bridgeport, where his ancestors had lived continuously since 1645. Thomas Sherwood, founder of the family in America, was an Englishman who sailed from Ipswich, England, in 1634, landing at Plymouth the same year, whence he removed to Fairfield, Connecticut, in 1645, where he resided until his death. Salmon was of the sixth generation from Thomas Sherwood. He was a man of fair education, a surveyor, school teacher and farmer, and served in a Virginia regiment, with the rank of lieutenant, under Generals St. Clair and Wayne during the campaigns against the Indian tribes of Ohio. After the campaign of 1793, he was employed by the proprietors of the lands about the Boone settlement in Kentucky as a surveyor. While there he married a Miss Stanley, who was massacred by the Indians. They had one son, Stephen, who escaped. After a residence in Kentucky of some four years, he returned to Connecticut on horse-back, bringing his young son, then three years old, with him. On his way from the Susquehanna valley to the lake country in New York, he passed through Tioga county, over the Williamson road. His son, Stephen, was killed or died in the naval service during the War of 1812. Salmon Sherwood was again married in 1797, to Phoebe Burritt, and by this marriage reared a family of nine sons and two daughters. Farming and surveying were his principal occupations. He served several terms in the legislature and Senate of Connecticut, and was a captain in the War of 1812. The wants of a growing family induced him to seek a new country where land was cheaper, and he removed from Connecticut to Chemung (now Schuyler) county, New York, in 1817, where he bought a large tract of new land. He gave his family such advantages as the schools of the period and neighborhood afforded. His eldest son, Burritt, was a graduate of a medical college and practiced his profession in New York City until his death, in 1854, at which time he was surgeon of the ill-fated steamer, Arctic, which sunk off Cape Race in the fall of 1854. Dr. Sherwood was detained at home by sickness and died about the same time the vessel was lost. Three of his sons, Charles, Henry and Julius, became lawyers, the last two being well-known residents of Wellsboro, Tioga county, at their death. Charles died at Messina, Sicily, in 1846, where he was then serving as United States Consul. One son, Walter, was educated at West Point Military Academy, and was killed in Florida during the Seminole war. Another son, George, was an engineer and died in New Orleans, from sickness contracted during the Mexican War; while Stanley, Rollin and James were farmers, the first of whom died in Tioga county. Salmon Sherwood died in Bradford county, Pennsylvania, in 1853, aged eighty-four years. His wife, Phoebe, died in Schuyler county, New York, at the home of her daughter, Mrs. Hinman, in 1872, aged ninety-six years. Four of their sons died in the service of the government, and during the Rebellion every one of their surviving sons and grandsons of military age were in the Union army or represented there. Two of their children still survive, viz: James, of Bradford county, aged eighty-six years, and Mrs. Phoebe Hinman, aged ninety years, who lives in Schuyler county, New York.
WILLIAM HARRISON was one of the pioneer carpenters of Wellsboro, Tioga county, coming here a single man in 1833, where he at once found employment on the stone court house, then in course of erection. He was a native of New Jersey, and soon after his advent in Wellsboro he married Catherine Meek, a daughter of Leonard and Mary Meek, natives of England, whence the family immigrated to Pennsylvania. Her father was one of the early tailors and merchants of Wellsboro, coming here in 1833, where he conducted business for many years. Mrs. Harrison was born in England, October 10, 1816. She became the mother of seven children, viz: Jefferson, a lawyer, of Wellsboro; Mary, Albert, deceased; Sarah, Leonard, president of the First National Bank of Wellsboro, and William and Catherine, both of whom died in childhood. Mr. Harrison continued the business of carpenter and builder for a number of years, but later purchased a farm in Delmar and lived in that township for quite a long period. Returning to Wellsboro, he spent his declining years in the family home on Main street, now occupied by his widow, where he died January 18, 1885, aged eighty-four years. Mr. Harrison was a life-long member of the Presbyterian church, to which denomination his widow belongs. He was a good neighbor and an honest man, and is kindly remembered by the community among whom the greater portion of his life was passed.
LEONARD HARRISON, president of the First National Bank of Wellsboro, was born in that borough, January 10, 1850, a son of William and Catherine Harrison, and has spent his entire life in his native county. He attended the public schools until the age of fifteen, and then began clerking in the postoffice under Hon. Hugh Young. He subsequently worked with his father at the carpenter business up to 1878, and the following six years was clerk in the commissioners’ office. In the meantime he had devoted some attention to lumbering, and in 1883 went into the coal business, with which he was connected over ten years. His principal success, however, has been attained in the lumber business, which he has prosecuted with energy and remarkable judgment for several years, being now recognized as one of the most successful lumbermen in Tioga county. As a tribute to his business and financial prominence and integrity, Mr. Harrison was chosen in August, 1896, president of the First National Bank, to succeed the late Jesse M. Robinson. On July 2, 1882, he married Miss Mary Green, a daughter of Peter and Agnes Green, of Delmar township, to which union have been born three children: Emily, deceased; Kate and George. The family are Presbyterians in religious belief. The handsome new church of that denomination in Wellsboro was erected under the personal supervision of Mr. Harrison, and owes much to his generous liberality and knowledge of the builder’s art. He is a member of the board of trustees, and takes a deep interest in the Sabbath-school, as well as in all else pertaining to the church. In politics, he has always been a Republican, and has filled the office of school director nine years, also that of burgess, collector and borough clerk.
ROBERT C. SIMPSON was born in the village of Moffat, Dumfrieshire, Scotland, Septemeber 27, 1823. His father was an Englishman and his mother a native of Scotland. In August, 1834, the family came to the United States and settled at Silver Lake, Susquehanna county, Pennsylvania, Robert being then about eleven years old. At the age of fourteen he began clerking in a general store at Montrose and he subsequently became a teacher in the Montrose Academy. Here he was married in his twenty-first year, and two years later the young couple came to Wellsboro, Tioga county, where Mr. Simpson found employment as a clerk in the office of the, he has always been a Republican, and has filled the office of school director nine years, also that of burgess, collector and borough clerk.
ROBERT C. SIMPSON was born in the village of Moffat, Dumfrieshire, Scotland, Septemeber 27, 1823. His father was an Englishman and his mother a native of Scotland. In August, 1834, the family came to the United States and settled at Silver Lake, Susquehanna county, Pennsylvania, Robert being then about eleven years old. At the age of fourteen he began clerking in a general store at Montrose and he subsequently became a teacher in the Montrose Academy. Here he was married in his twenty-first year, and two years later the young couple came to Wellsboro, Tioga county, where Mr. Simpson found employment as a clerk in the office of the Bingham estate, which position he filled one year. Returning to Montrose he engaged in merchandising. About 1850 he moved to Towanda, Bradford county, and became teller in the bank of LaPort, Mason & Company, and five years later went to Scranton to accept the cashiership in the bank of Mason, Meylert & Company, which he held three years. He then returned to Wellsboro and became chief clerk in the Bingham office. When William B. Clymer went to Europe, in 1869, Mr. Simpson had charge of the business, and after the death of Mr. Clymer he succeeded him as agent and attorney of the estate. From that time until his death he discharged the duties of this responsible position with characteristic zeal, unflagging industry, sound judgment and strict integrity, winning not only a well-earned competence, but the confidence and esteem of those for whom he acted. He was a proficient accountant and an accurate and methodical business man. Having a great deal of land business to transact, in the matter of titles and conveyances, he was admitted to the bar of Tioga county, ex gratia, in 1880, a compliment he highly esteemed. He also took a deep interest in the bar association and was one of its most liberal and useful members. Prior to the Rebellion Mr. Simpson was a Democrat, but at that time he became a Republican. He remained a faithful supporter of the Republican party the balance of his life, and was chairman of the county committee in 1874. In early manhood he was an Odd Fellow, and in later years became a Mason. He was a member of the committee that revised the constitution of the Grand Lodge, at which period he was one of the leading members of the Masonic order in northern Pennsylvania.
Mr. Simpson’s hearty and enduring love of Nature, animate and inanimate, was one of the dominant traits of his character. He was a sympathetic friend of the birds and animals of every kind, and could not brook the least cruelty to even the humbler members of Nature’s family. Such a man was naturally a generous friend of poor, suffering humanity, quick to discern and prompt to relieve distress. He gave without ostentation and as secretly as possible, and any reference to his benefactions was sure to be rebuked. Frank, outspoken, honest and truthful, he could not tolerate any attempt at deception or trickery on the part of others. Mr. Simpson was a well-informed man, a close observer of men and events, and possessed a sound and cultivated taste for good literature. A discriminating buyer of choice books, he accumulated through the passing years a fine library and was thoroughly familiar with its contents. His old home, standing in a dense grove of pines, has been long regarded as one of the landmarks of Wellsboro. Here he passed to eternal rest, April 15, 1893, leaving a widow and three daughters, his only son having died several years before.
COL. ALANSON E. NILES, a son of Nathan Niles, Jr., was born October 5, 1816, and grew to manhood in this county, where his father settled in 1796. He was among the first to respond to his country’s call, and was early in the field as captain of Company E, of the "Bucktails." At Drainsville he was severely wounded by being shot through the lungs. After recovering he hastened back to his regiment. At Gaines Hill he was taken prisoner with Companies D and E, and spent forty-nine days in Libby Prison, when they were exchanged. He was promoted to the rank of major, March 1, 1863, and on the fifteenth of May following he was made lieutenant colonel of the regiment. It was while with the "Bucktails" in their charge on Little Round Top, Gettysburg, that he was wounded in the left thigh. He was afterward transferred to the Veteran Reserve Corps and promoted to the rank of colonel. On the night President Lincoln was assassinated, he was in Ford’s Theater and heard the pistol shot. Colonel Niles participated in many battles and was recognized as one of the "bravest of the brave." During the Grand Review in Washington he was officer of the day and had full military charge of the city on that memorable occasion. He was commissioned a captain in the regular army and for three years was stationed at Plattsburg, New York, as commandant of the military barracks. In 1869 he was retired on account of disability, by reason of his wounds, with the rank and pay of a captain, and he took up his residence in Wellsboro, where he died October 8, 1891.
GEN. ROBERT CORSON COX is one of the oldest, most respected and best known citizens of Wellsboro. He is a native of Fairfield township, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, where he was born November 18, 1833, a son of William and Hannah (Corson) Cox, the former a native of Montour county, of Irish ancestry, and the latter of Lycoming county, of German-Quaker stock. His parents removed to Delmar township, Tioga county, when Robert C. was about two months old, where they lived some twelve years and then returned to their former home in Lycoming county. In April, 1841, the family again came to this county and settled near the site of Liberty borough. Here the mother died in May, 1842, and the father in February, 1856. Robert c. was in his eighteenth year when his parents located in Liberty township, and had spent his boyhood assisting them on the farm, attending the common schools during the winter seasons and enduring the trials and hardships of those early days. On April 7, 1846, he married Lydia Ann Wheeland, a daughter of George and Mary K. Wheeland, of Liberty, whose ancestors were pioneers of Loyalsock township, Lycoming county, whence her parents removed to Liberty township, Tioga county, in 1827. Three children blessed this union, as follows: Henry C., cashier of the First National Bank of Wellsboro; Mary E., deceased wife of Jacob K. Richards, and Carrie M., deceased wife of Alfred P. Dartt. After his marriage Mr. Cox took charge of the homestead farm, on which his father had paid $500, but on account of a defective title our subject was compelled to repurchase the property. Here he lived, clearing the land and tilling the soil, until 1854, when he sold the farm and embarked in merchandising and lumbering at Liberty, which business he followed until entering the army in 1862. In the meantime he had served six years as orderly sergeant of a volunteer cavalry company, and was brigade inspector of militia, with the rank of major, from 1854 up to the first year of the war.
On the breaking out of the Rebellion he at once took an active and prominent part in raising troops to defend the flag, some of which were not accepted, Pennsylvania’s quota being full. But in August, 1862, he went to Harrisburg with the drafted men from Tioga county, and on the organization of the One Hundred and Seventy-first Pennsylvania Volunteers he was elected major of the regiment, his commission dating November 18, 1862. This regiment served about one year, principally on garrison duty in North Carolina, and was mustered out at Harrisburg in August, 1863. In the summer of 1864 General Cox was authorized by Adjutant General Russell to raise a regiment, and the result of his efforts in that direction was the gallant Two Hundred and Seventh Pennsylvania Volunteers, of which command he was commissioned colonel September 28, 1864. The regiment participated in the closing scenes of the war, including Hatcher’s Run, Fort Steadman, the assault on and capture of Petersburg, and the surrender of Lee at Appomattox. In March, 1865, while in front of Petersburg, the regiment presented General Cox with a horse and complete outfit, valued at $550, as a token of their appreciation of his soldierly qualities and the warm place he had in their affections. Its brave and efficient commander was brevetted brigadier general April 9, 1865, participated with his regiment in the grand review at Washington, D. C., was mustered out with his command at Alexandria, Virginia, may 31, 1865, and was discharged at Harrisburg on June 5 following. Returning to his home in Liberty, General Cox resumed the peaceful pursuits of merchandising and lumbering, and again became a plain American citizen.
In politics, General Cox was originally a Whig, casting his first vote for Henry Clay for president, and has been a consistent Republican since the organization of that party. He served as justice of the peace in Liberty from 1862 to 1867, and was postmaster of the borough from April, 1869, until the autumn of the same year, when he was elected treasurer of Tioga county, which office he filled one term. While still treasurer he was elected prothonotary and clerk of the court, November 13, 1872, and was re-elected six successive terms, serving in that office a period of twenty-one consecutive years. He has been a permanent resident of Wellsboro since the fall of 1872, and is widely known in northern Pennsylvania.
General Cox and wife have been members of the Methodist Episcopal church for nearly half a century, and have lived to celebrate the golden anniversary of their marriage. Few men are more favorably known in this section of the State than this old veteran, whose unsullied integrity and clean military and official record have endeared him to the people of Tioga county. at his last election as prothonotary he received 9,302 votes, or fifty-eight more than the combined vote cast for Pattison and Delamater, and during the closing year of that term he was frequently urged by many leading men in different parts of the county to again be a candidate for the office which he had filled so long and faithfully, but he firmly declined, and retired to private life. Here in the happy companionship of his affectionate wife, his faithful helpmate through both sunshine and shadow, he is spending the sunset of a successful and honorable career in the enjoyment of the esteem and confidence of the entire community.
HON. HUGH YOUNG, the veteran bank examiner, has had a long and varied public career as correspondent, editor, legislator, bank examiner and president of the Wellsborough National Bank. He is a native of Killyleagh, County down, Ireland, born on the 14th of December, 1832, a twin brother of the late Thomas L. Young, ex-governor of Ohio. Their parentage, on both sides of the parental tree, were Scotch-Irish Presbyterians, the Youngs and Kennedys having emigrated from Ayrshire, Scotland, to Ulster, Ireland in the Seventeenth century. When the twins were together, even in manhood, it was impossible for a stranger to distinguish them apart, so closely did they resemble each other.
Hugh immigrated to this county in 1850, and lived with his brother, the late Robert Kennedy Young, a prosperous farmer of Potter county, who sent him to the Coudersport Academy. Here we find him as clerk in a store for a year, and for three years afterwards as a law student with the late Hon. John S. Mann, supporting himself by teaching and surveying. Not having much fancy for the practice of law he never asked for admission to the bar, but turned his attention to journalism, writing his first letters to the New York Herald in 1855, describing the Norwegian colony on Kettle creek, the grand opening celebration of Oleona, and Ole Bull’s castle, topics which attracted much attention at that time.
In 1856 Mr. Young went with the congressional investigating committee to Kansas, of which Hon. John Sherman was chairman, as correspondent of the New York Tribune, and was an eye witness of many of the guerrilla fights between the Free State forces under John Brown and Gen. Jim Lane, and the Border Ruffians under Stringfellow, Richardson and others; and his letters signed "Potter" were quoted by every newspaper and every orator either in denunciation or approval during the heated presidential campaign of that year.
In April, 1856, George W. Brown, the editor of the Herald of Freedom, at Lawrence, the first Republican newspaper published in the territory of Kansas, was arrested for treason, with four others, and confined at Lecompton. At Brown’s request Mr. Young took charge of the paper as associate editor and continued its publication until it was destroyed by a mob, May 21, and continued as associate editor for a year after the paper was re-established. His health failing through malaria, Mr. Young returned to his old home in Pennsylvania, and became book-keeper in the office of the Bingham estate at Coudersport, where he remained until December, 1859, when he purchased the Agitator at Wellsboro. During the war for the Union Mr. Young made his newspaper a household necessity in nearly every Tioga county family, by engaging a correspondent in every regiment and in nearly every company in which Tioga county soldiers were enlisted.
In 1862 he sold the Agitator to the founder, M. H. Cobb, and went into business as a bookseller and insurance agent. In 1876 he was elected to the legislature, but resigned in May, 1877, to accept the office of national bank examiner. He was removed for political reasons in February, 1888, and in the fall of that year he founded the Wellsborough National Bank. In 1889 he was a candidate for comptroller of the currency, but failed to get the appointment. In November, 1891, he was called into the public service again as special bank examiner, and by unanimous petition of the bankers of Pittsburg he was assigned for duty in that city by the comptroller of the currency.
Mr. Young has always taken a lively interest in the social, moral, industrial, civic, and literary life of the people of the borough in which he has resided for so many years. He has been honored by his fellow citizens in being chosen to many local positions of responsibility and trust.
In politics Mr. Young has always been a Republican, and cast his first vote (1854) for Gov. James Pollock, who appointed him on his military staff as an aid-de-camp with the rank of lieutenant colonel. He was a delegate from the territory of Kansas to the first Republican National Convention at Philadelphia in 1856, which nominated General Fremont, and he was also a delegate from the Sixteenth Congressional district of Pennsylvania to the Republican National Convention at Chicago, in 1888, which nominated Harrison and Reid. In 1861 he was appointed postmaster at Wellsboro and served five years, and in 1862 he was appointed consul to Santa Cruz, which honor he declined.
Although slightly lame by reason of an accident in early youth, Mr. Young volunteered as an Emergency Man in 1863, when Lee’s forces invaded the State, and was accepted as a private in Company F, Thirty-fifth Volunteer Militia; was sworn into the United States service; was promoted to the staff as first lieutenant and quartermaster, and served until the regiment was mustered out.
In 1884, on motion of Hon. M. F. Elliott, Mr. Young was admitted to the bar of Tioga county, ex gratia, on the unanimous petition of the members as a mark of their esteem. Mr. Young was married September 22, 1859, to Lois Ann, second daughter of A. H. Butterworth, of Coudersport, Pennsylvania, and they have three sons, Robert Kennedy, Hugh Carlisle, and Thomas Lowry. Mrs. Young is a niece of the late Hon. David Wilmot, of Towanda, Pennsylvania.
EDWARD G. SCHIEFFELIN, superintendent of the Stokesdale tannery, was born in Charleston township, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, March 26, 1836, and is a son of Dr. Jacob Schieffelin, a pioneer settler and lumberman of that township, and later a resident of Tioga borough. He was educated in the public schools and at Alfred Academy, Allegany county, New York, and at the age of twenty began merchandising in Tioga, as a member of the firm of Baldwin, Lowell & Company, continuing from December, 1856, to March, 1861. In September, 1861, he raised Company H, Forty-fifth Pennsylvania Volunteers, and served as its captain until after the battle of South Mountain, when he was promoted to major for meritorious service. He also participated in the battles of James Island, Antietam and Fredericksburg, besides numerous skirmishes. Owing to ill health, he resigned January 10, 1863, and returned home. When Lee invaded Pennsylvania he went out as lieutenant colonel of the Thirty-fifth regiment, Emergency Men, and served six weeks. He was subsequently appointed a deputy provost marshal for Tioga county, which office he filled until the close of the war. After his return to Tioga he engaged in the lumber business, but soon went to New York, where he filled the position of salesman in a wholesale dry-goods house for three years. In 1871 he became a member of the firm of Bailey, Lowell & Company, his partners being John W. Bailey, F. K. Wright and O. B. Lowell, founders of the Stokesdale tannery, Mr. Wright and himself being the managers. In 1880 Bailey and Wright sold out to William H. Humphrey, and the firm became Schieffelin & Company. In October, 1883, the Wellsboro Leather Company (Limited) was organized, with a capital of $200,000, and the plant and grounds became its property. In May, 1893, the control was transferred to the Union Tanning Company, in which Mr. Schieffelin is a stockholder and director. He has filled the position of superintendent since 1891, and is the only one of the original founders now connected with the enterprise. On April 8, 1878, Mr. Schieffelin married Barbara Duttenhaffer, of Wellsboro, who died in July of the same year. On June 15, 1881, he married Elizabeth M. Schmitt, of Elmira. To this union was born one son, George Girard, June 3, 1884. The mother died July 15, 1884. He was married to his present wife October 17, 1894. She was a Miss Mary Sommerville, and is the mother of one daughter, Mary S., born in October, 1895. Mr. Schieffelin is a thorough business man and possesses high executive ability. His successful career has been due to close attention to business details and an accurate knowledge of all the minutiae of the enterprise with which his name has been so closely associated for more than a quarter of a century. In politics, he has been a life-long Republican; was a delegate to the Republican National Convention at Chicago in 1881, and is recognized as a man of marked influence in the party councils of this congressional district.
HENRY JACKSON LANDRUS was born in Blossburg, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, September 16, 1839, a son of Washington and Lucinda (Granger) Landrus, and was reared in his native town. He attended the public schools of Blossburg in boyhood, and began his business career by assisting his father in supplying prop timber for the mines in the vicinity of his home. At the age of sixteen we find him engaged in clerking and weighing coal at the Morris Run mines, thus assisting his parents in the support of a large family. Here he was married to Mary E. Evans, a daughter of John Evans, of Blossburg, June 16, 1862. Believing that his country needed his services, he enlisted August 30, 1862, in Company G, One Hundred and Forty-ninth Pennsylvania Volunteers, and leaving his young wife went to the front in defense of the flag. On April 3, 1864, he was promoted to the rank of sergeant-major and served with his regiment until May 5, 1864, when he was shot through the right arm at the battle of the Wilderness and captured by the rebels. For about nine months he suffered all the horrors of imprisonment at Andersonville, and was then exchanged and rejoined his regiment, with which he served until honorably discharged May 31, 1865. Returning to Blossburg he resumed the duties of civil life. His executive ability and sound business judgment finally attracted the attention of F. N. Drake, then the leading spirit in the development of the mines at Arnot, who in march, 1868, appointed Mr. Landrus book-keeper and paymaster for the Blossburg Coal Company at that place, and in 1872 general superintendent, which position he filled until May 1, 1876, when he resigned. In 1879 he was elected on the Republican ticket sheriff of Tioga county, but in 1881 he virtually resigned the office and again assumed the responsibilities of general manager at Arnot. When the Arnot mines became the property of the Erie Railway Company, Mr. Landrus resigned the superintendency and engaged in the lumber business, as a member of the firm of Drake, Landrus & Drake, with which he was connected up to his death. He removed from Arnot to Antrim in the spring of 1885, and in 1891 took up his residence in Wellsboro, where he died October 16, 1896, leaving a widow and nine children to mourn his loss. His children are as follows: Mary, wife of Frank H. Dartt; Flora, wife of W. L. Beverson; John L., Harry J., George, Nellie, Lou, Bessie and Paul.
Mr. Landrus was a prominent factor in the development of his native county, and his busy, successful career is a bright example to his fellowmen. A respected and honored citizen, he enjoyed the confidence of the whole community, as exemplified by the many positions of trust and responsibility which he so creditably filled at different periods in his life. In January, 1893, he was chosen president of the Wellsborough National Bank and served in that capacity up to December, 1895, when he resigned. He was quite prominent in the councils of the Republican party and was a delegate from this district to the National Convention at St. Louis, which nominated McKinley and Hobart as the Republican standard bearers. In politics, as well as in business, he was plain, outspoken and fearless, yet charitable and always tolerant of the opinions of others. As a son, he watched over the declining years of his aged parents with the greatest solicitude, and as a husband and father he was kind, loving and generous. His unostentatious charity, genial manner and warm-hearted friendship won him the respect of the community. He was a member of the school board and board of health in Wellsboro, and secretary of the board of trustees of Cottage State Hospital, all of which passed warm resolutions at his death, extolling his high character and clean record as a public official and private citizen.
ANTON HARDT, general superintendent of the Fall Brook Coal Company, was born in Vienna, Austria, march 27, 1839, a son of Anton and Elizabeth (Jacobi) Hardt. He was educated in his native city; graduated from the I. R. Polytechnic Institute, of Vienna, and the I. R. School of Mines, at Leoben, Styria, and in 1860 was appointed by the Austrian government assistant teacher in the latter institution, where he remained two years. He then resigned to accept the more practical position of mining engineer at the coal mines of Prevali, Carinthia. In 1863 he accepted the position of mining engineer and superintendent at the extensive coal mines of Sagor, Carniola. This he resigned in June, 1865, and in September of that year he came to the United States and found employment as a civil engineer on the Philadelphia and Erie railroad, with headquarters at Williampsort, Pennsylvania, where he remained up to 1867. He then resigned to take charge of the survey of the Wellsboro and Lawrenceville railroad, and on the death of Mr. Brewer he was made mining engineer at Fall Brook, Tioga county, also serving as chief engineer of the Wellsboro and Lawrenceville railroad up to 1873. On January 1, 1873, Mr. Hardt was appointed superintendent of the mine at Fall Brook and Antrim, and in the fall of 1875, he was elected chief engineer of the Syracuse, Geneva and Corning railroad, which was completed under his supervision in November, 1877. In January, 1882, he was elected chief engineer of the Jersey Shore, Pine creek and Buffalo railroad, now the Pine creek railroad, but at his own request he was released from railroad work in March, 1890. Mr. Hardt is a stockholder and director in the Pine Creek Railroad Company; a director in the Tioga Improvement Company, and a member of the American Institute of Mining Engineers. He has written and published numerous articles on geology and civil engineering in German and American journals, among them in the Scientific American, and the Railroad Gazette. Mr. Hardt was married December 2, 1866, to Miss Alvina Koch, a daughter of Augustus Koch, a well-remembered business man of South Williamsport. Six children bless this union, viz: Alice W., deceased; Minnie E., Edmond A., a clerk in the office of the Fall Brook Coal Company, at Antrim; Charles W., a student at the Pennsylvania State College; Annie B., and Albert F. Mrs. Hardt died September 3, 1890, aged forty-eight years. On Mary 22, 1894, he married for his second wife, in St. Peter’s church, Augustus Maine, Mrs. Florence Augusta Thurber, daughter of David Turk, of Addison, New York. She is the mother of two children, William H. and Emma Lilian, the former a telegraph operator at Wellsboro and the latter a musician of promise. Mr. Hardt is a member of the Protestant Episcopal church, and has been an active worker in the Wellsboro organization. He has been a member of the school board since 1887; president of the board of education for three years; is secretary of the board of health, and also a director in the First National Bank of Wellsboro. Mr. Hardt is one of the prominent and substantial citizens of Tioga county, a gentleman of broad, progressive and liberal ideas, and is held in high esteem by the community in which he has lived for more than a quarter of a century.
JOHN R. BOWEN was born in Owego, Tioga county, New York, December 15, 1818, a son of James and Jane (Westfall) Bowen. His father was a native of New England, but was reared in Warren township, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, where the family settled before 1800. James Bowen married Jane Westfall, who became the mother of nine children. He followed the sea for a number of years, but later became a farmer and lumberman, and died in Owego, New York, in August, 1847. His widow died in 1885, aged eighty-nine years. When John R. was five months old his parents removed to Warren township, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, his father’s former home, and when he was nineteen they returned to Owego, New York. In 1851 he came to Cedar Run, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, where he embarked in merchandising and lumbering. In 1853 Mr. Bowen located in Wellsboro, but for thirteen years afterward retained his interest in the store in Cedar Run. After coming to Wellsboro he opened a store on the site of the Wellsborough National Bank, where he carried on business for sixteen years. He then built what is known as the Jacobson block, in which he continued business for a number of years. In 1869 he became a member of the lumber firm of Truman & Bowen, proprietors of the old Bodine mill on Queen street, which they operated for about twenty years. For several years past he has lived retired from active business. Mr. Bowen was married October 16, 1849, to Maria Ann Howland, a daughter of Marsena and Elizabeth (Holt) Howland. She was born in Sheffield, Massachusetts, December 19, 1824. Two children are the fruits of this union, viz: James M., a resident of Wellsboro, and George W., of Rochester, New York. Mrs. Bowen’s father died in Berkshire, New York, in 1844, aged fifty years, and her mother at Cedar Run in 1856, aged sixty. In politics, Mr. Bowen was first a Whig, but became a Republican upon the formation of that party. In 1869 he was appointed assessor of internal revenue for the Eighteenth district, which position he held four years. He was then appointed collector of internal revenue, but not desiring the office he resigned in favor of John Burrows. In 1876 he was a Blaine delegate to the National Republican Convention at Cincinnati. He was elected county treasurer in 1880, and served three years. He filled the offices of deputy sheriff and constable in Tioga county, New York; also assistant burgess, member of council and tax collector in Wellsboro. Mr. Bowen was one of the original stockholders of the First National Bank of Wellsboro, and for seventeen years a member of the board of directors. In religion he is a Presbyterian, and for thirty-four years he has been a member of the Masonic order.
CHARLES G. OSGOOD, a son of Hon. John and Olive (Grosvenor) Osgood, was born in Cincinnatus, Cortland county, New York, March 22, 1820, and is descended from John Osgood, a native of Hampshire, England, who settled in Andover, Massachusetts, about 1638. The subject of this sketch grew to manhood in his native State, and there received a common school education. In 1840 he came to Tioga county, Pennsylvania, and located at Tiadaghton, on Pine creek, where he engaged in lumbering three or four years. In 1845 he removed to Wellsboro, and the following year he purchased the mercantile stock of Henry Graves. For more than forty years he carried on merchandising successfully, finally retiring from active business in 1890, in which year he sold out the stock. Mr. Osgood was married May 23, 1861, to Mary Josephine Todd, a native of North Haven, Connecticut, born February 6, 1833. She is a daughter of Josiah and Elizabeth (Clinton) Todd. Her father was born in North Haven, Connecticut, in 1794, and was descended from Christopher Todd and Grace Middlebrook, who were among the original settlers of New Haven colony in 1638. He was married in 1816 to Elizabeth Clinton, and moved to Newark Valley, New York, in 1834, where he was interested in the tanning business for some years, later purchased a farm and followed agriculture up to the time of his death. To Charles G. and Mary J. Osgood have been born three children, viz: Harry Winthrop, who is connected with the United Press office, in New York city; Mary Helen, wife of Dr. C. W. Webb, of Wellsboro, and Charles Grosvenor, a graduate of Yale College. Mr. Osgood united with the Presbyterian church of Wellsboro in 1856, and has filled the office of elder in that body since 1857. He has been superintendent of the Sunday-school for many years, and mainly through his efforts and financial assistance the Presbyterian Sunday-school library has developed into its present proportions. Mrs. Osgood has taken an active interest in church work, and for twenty-seven years has been organist and chorister of the Presbyterian church. Mr. Osgood is a Republican in politics; has been burgess of Wellsboro twice, and is one of the substantial citizens of the county.
WILLIAM ROBERTS, son of William and Betsey (Pratt) Roberts, was born at Canton, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, August 14, 1826. His father was a son of Nathan Roberts, and a native of Connecticut, born in January, 1796. In 1799 the family came to Canton, Pennsylvania, where William Roberts, Sr., grew to manhood and married Betsey Pratt. To this union were born sixteen children, eleven of whom grew to maturity, as follows: Mehitabel, wife of David R. Cole; Hannah, wife of Edward McClellan; Julius, deceased; William, who died in Wellsboro; Lyman, deceased; David P., a resident of Emmettsburg, Iowa; Mary Jane, who lives in Canton, Pennsylvania; Mariette, wife of Erastus Putnam of the same place; Asa, deceased; Viola, wife of Russell Ross, of DeSmet, South Dakota, and Valeria, wife of F. M. Baldwin. The parents both died on the homestead farm at Canton, in April, 1865, their deaths occurring within two days of each other. The subject of this sketch obtained a common school education, and spent his youth and young manhood on the home farm in Bradford county. in 1852 he went to California, remaining there two years. In the autumn of 1854 he came to Wellsboro and opened a hardware store in partnership with his brother, David P., the firm being D. P. & W. Roberts. In 1857 his brother retired from the business, which, with but a slight interruption, was carried on by our subject up to his death, march 22, 1897, being at the time the oldest merchant in Wellsboro. Mr. Roberts was married October 22, 1857, to Margaret Sturrock, a daughter of David and Jane Sturrock. Nine children have been born to this union, as follows: William H., deceased; Charles H., Mary B., wife of Alexander P. Cameron, of Manor, Pennsylvania; Lyman, a commercial traveler, who resides in Elmira; Edwin M., Margaret, Minnie Jane, deceased, Sarah, and Jessie, the last deceased. Mr. Roberts was a Republican since 1856, but was not active in politics, though he served in the borough council and as a school director. In religion, he was a member of the Presbyterian church. He was the last charter member of Ossea Lodge, No. 317, F. & A. M., and was also a charter member of Tyoga Chapter, No. 194, R. A. M., and of Tyagaghton Commandery, No. 28, K. T. Mr. Roberts’ long and successful business career was marked by a strict adherence to honorable business methods. He enjoyed the respect and esteem of the community, and during the forty-two years he lived in Wellsboro he was an active supporter of nearly every enterprise calculated to forward the growth and prosperity of the town.
WILLIAM H. ROBERTS, son of William and Margaret (Sturrock) Roberts, was born in Wellsboro, Pennsylvania, August 30, 1858, and was educated in the borough schools, and graduated from the Pittsburg Commercial College. After his return to Wellsboro, he assisted his father in the store. He was an expert book-keeper and accountant, and soon obtained recognition as a wide-awake, public-spirited citizen, and a foremost advocate of everything tending to advance the place of his birth. In 1889 he was elected burgess and made a most excellent official, his duties being very arduous, owing to the disastrous June flood of that year. In 1891 he was elected a councilman and was filling that position at the time of his death. He was a prominent Mason, and a member of a number of other secret and civic societies. Mr. Roberts possessed, in a marked degree, those sterling traits of character that command respect and esteem. He was married October 12, 1882, to Dora Coles, a daughter of W. R. Coles, of Wellsboro. He died October 21, 1893. Two sons, William and Leon, and their mother survive the loss of a kind father and husband.
M. M. CONVERSE was born in Palmer, Massachusetts, February 15, 1822, and learned the tailor’s trade in his native State. He came to Wellsboro in 1843, where he continued to work at his trade. In 1848 he opened a clothing store and offered to his patrons the first stock of ready-made clothing brought to Wellsboro. After conducting business alone for some years, he formed a partnership with Mr. Osgood, and the firm of Converse & Osgood continued the business. About 1880 Mr. Converse retired, and died June 27, 1895. In 1865 he married Mrs. Juliet Sherwood, oldest daughter of Chester Robinson, to which union was born one son, Chester R. His widow died in Pasadena, California, April 24, 1897.
CHESTER R. CONVERSE, only child of M. M. and Juliet Converse, was born in Wellsboro, Tioga county, October 21, 1869. He attended the common schools of the borough and later took a course in Phillips’ Academy, Andover, Massachusetts, and in the Elmira Business College. In 1889 he engaged in the hardware business in Wellsboro as a member of the firm of Nichols & Converse, but within a year he purchased his partner’s interest and continued the business alone for five years. On January 1, 1896, he became a member of the firm of Bailey & Converse, dealers in agricultural implements, etc. Mr. Converse was married June 27, 1893, to Emily Nichols, a daughter of Alfred I. Nichols, of Wellsboro. In politics, he is a Democrat, and is recognized as one of the substantial young business men of the borough.
JOHN MATHERS, SR., a native of County Londonderry, Ireland, immigrated to Chester county, Pennsylvania, about the close of the last century. Early in the present century he came to Tioga county and settled in Broughton Hollow, in the southeastern part of Delmar township, removing some years later to a farm about a mile southwest of Wellsboro. He married Jane McKeever, who bore him the following children: Charles, James, William, Robert, John, Jane, who married Gaylord Judd; Mrs. Daniel Kelsy; Eliza, who married Gates Wilcox; Mary, who married Benjamin Gitchell, and Rebecca, who married Frank Wetherbee, all of whom are dead. The parents passed the closing years of their lives on the homestead farm near Wellsboro.
JOHN MATHERS, son of John Mathers, Sr. was born in Chester county, Pennsylvania, June 10, 1799, removed with his parents to Tioga county when about eleven years of age, and grew to manhood in Delmar township. In 1829 he went to Evansville, Indiana, and there married Eliza Jane Beecher, a daughter of Hopestill and Abigail (Rathbone) Beecher, pioneer settlers at Beecher’s Island, Tioga county. She was born in this county February 13, 1806, and became the mother of eleven children, viz: Sarah Jane, wife of Charles Herrington, of Delmar; William T., of Wellsboro; Mary Clorinda, widow of Dr. Luther W. Johnson, of Blossburg; Happylonia, deceased wife of H. H. Gibson, of New York; Emily B., wife of George Sullivan, of Cincinnati; Helen E., wife of Lewis Tompkins, of Fishkill, New York; Abigail B., a resident of Wellsboro; John, Jr., a resident of New Orleans, Louisiana; Phoebe A., deceased wife of B. F. Werline, of Liberty; Charles C. and Marion H., both of whom are dead. Soon after his marriage Mr. Mathers removed to Shippen township, Tioga county, and settled on Pine creek, above Ansonia. Here for a number of years he operated a saw-mill and a grist-mill and also kept a wayside inn. When the postoffice of Shippen was established he became the first postmaster. In 1849 he was elected sheriff of Tioga county, and was elected a second time in 1855. After his retirement from office he bought a farm in Charleston township, near Round top. Here he made his home until 1876, when he went to New York for medical treatment and resided in that city until his death, may 29, 1879. His wife died August 11, 1887.
WILLIAM T. MATHERS, oldest son of John and Eliza Jane Mathers, and grandson of John Mathers, Sr., was born in Shippen township, Tioga county, August 8, 1832. He obtained his education in the common schools and at the seminary in Lima, New York. In 1858 he opened a general store in Wellsboro, which he carried on for twenty-five years, and was one of the leading merchants of the town during this period. For several years past he has been engaged in selling goods as a commercial traveler, though retaining his residence in Wellsboro. On June 7, 1855, Mr. Mathers married Mary Rose Merrick, a daughter of Israel Merrick, Jr., and has four children, viz: George Beecher, who lives in Delmar; William John, Horace Maine and Mary Beulah, all residents of Wellsboro. In politics, Mr. Mathers is a Republican, and in religion, a member of the Methodist Episcopal church.
CHARLES COOLIDGE MATHERS, youngest son of John and Eliza Jane Mathers, and grandson of John Mathers, Sr., was born in Shippen township, Tioga county, November 4, 1846, and received a common school education. He began his business career as a bank clerk in Evansville, Indiana, before he was twenty-one years of age. He subsequently returned to Wellsboro and in June, 1870, bought out the mercantile business of Laugher Bache. He continued in business by himself until 1878 when F. W. Graves purchased an interest and the firm became C. C. Mathers & Company. In 1885 F. W. Siemens was admitted to the partnership and the firm name was changed to Mathers, Graves & Company. Mr. Mathers continued in the successful prosecution of his business until his death, July 4, 1894. The firm name remains unchanged. On June 19, 1876 he was married to Mary Bryden, a daughter of James and Mary Bryden, of Wellsboro, to which union was born one son, George R. In politics, Mr. Mathers was a Republican, and though not an active politician he filled the office of burgess and took a commendable interest in public matters. In religion, he was a member of the Presbyterian church, and was also connected with the I. O. O. F. and the F. & A. M. societies. His successful career was due to his own untiring energy and natural aptitude for business. His judgment and knowledge of men and affairs made him one of the most complete men of his day. His integrity and fairness won the confidence and love of all who knew him. As a citizen he was progressive, public spirited, enterprising and liberal, and his death was a severe loss to the business interests of the community.
FREDERICK W. GRAVES, of the firm of Mathers, Graves & Company, was born in Ithaca, New York, May 5, 1852, and is a son of Rev. Frederick W. and Susan E. (Hayt) Graves. He is a descendant, on his father’s side, from Thomas Graves, who came to America from England before 1645, and settled at Hartford, Connecticut. His grandfather, Col. Rufus Graves, and great-grandfather, Stephen Hayt, were soldiers in the Revolutionary War, the former serving in Captain Merriman’s company, and also in Capt. John Bacon’s company, from Connecticut. His father was born in Andover, Massachusetts, in 1806, graduated at Amherst College in 1824, and followed the ministry all his life, dying in Canandaigua, New York, in 1864. His mother was a daughter of Dr. John C. Hayt, of Corning, New York, and died in 1890. They were the parents of four children, viz: Helen A., wife of Andrew Parker, of Buffalo; Edward P., president of the Corning Manufacturing Company, of Corning; Mary E., also a resident of Corning, and Frederick W. The last mentioned was educated in the Corning public schools and Alfred University. When fifteen years of age he entered the employ of S. T. Hayt, proprietor of a flouring mill at Corning, for whom he worked three years. In 1872 he engaged with Phelps, Dodge & Company, and in 1874, when they opened their Wellsboro office under the title of the Pennsylvania Joint Land & Lumber Company, he was given employment there, and remained with them up to 1878. He then purchased an interest in the store of C. C. Mathers, and the firm of C. C. Mathers & Company existed until 1885, when another partner was admitted, and the firm has since been Mathers, Graves & Company, Limited. Mr. Graves was married April 28, 1881, to Nellie, youngest daughter of John N. Bache, of Wellsboro, and has two children, Martha B. and Sarah S. In politics, he is a Republican, and has been borough auditor six years and school director three years, and is one of the leading merchants of Wellsboro.
FREDERICK K. WRIGHT was born in Athens, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, March 11, 1835, a son of Capt. Jason K. and Maria (Ely) Wright, of that place. He was reared in his native county, removed to Tioga county in 1859, and in 1861 formed a partnership with John W. Bailey, under the firm name of Wright & Bailey, and carried on a general store in Wellsboro for twenty years. In 1873 he became interested with others in establishing the tannery at Stokesdale, with which he was connected some years, during which period he was also interested in the lumber business. In 1883 Mr. Wright practically retired from active business, but is still interested in several business enterprises in Wellsboro. From 1885 to 1894 he was one of the proprietors of the Wellsboro Gazette. He is a stockholder in the Wellsborough National Bank, and was vice-president of that institution from January, 1896, up to January, 1897. He is also president of the Wellsboro Water Company and a director in the Wellsboro Building and Loan Association. On February 11, 1862, Mr. Wright married Ellen M. Lowrey, a daughter of Hon. James Lowrey, of which union two daughters survive, Mary L. and Louise. The family are adherents of St. Paul’s Protestant Episcopal church. Mr. Wright has always been one of the leading Democratic politicians in the county, and in 1892 was his party’s candidate for Congress in the Sixteenth Congressional district. Though defeated, he polled the full vote of his party, and drew a considerable vote from the opposition. As a slight recognition of his services, he was appointed postmaster of Wellsboro in 1895, which office he has since filled in a satisfactory manner. Enterprising, progressive and public-spirited, he has always taken a deep interest in the growth and prosperity of his adopted home.
WILLIAM VAN HORN was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and there learned the blacksmith’s trade, later removing to Blooming Grove, Lycoming county, where he followed his trade until his death in 1836. He married Susan Thompson, and reared a family of five children, viz: Benjamin T., of Wellsboro; Phineas, deceased; Nancy, wife of John Bliss, of Charleston township, and William B. and Deborah, both deceased. Mrs. Van Horn survived her husband over forty years, and died in 1882, aged seventy-five.
BENJAMIN T. VAN HORN, eldest child of William Van Horn, was born near Williamsport, Pennsylvania, July 6, 1815, and was educated in the common schools and the Wellsboro Academy. When fifteen years of age he entered the cabinet shop of David Caldwell, to learn that trade, and after a five years’ apprenticeship opened a shop of his own in Wellsboro. Here he continued for fifteen years manufacturing all work by hand. In 1850 he fitted his factory with machinery, and continued the business until 1872, when he sold it to his son, Rankin L., and son-in-law, N. T. Chandler, who carried on the business up to 1894. Mr. Van Horn married Nancy Bliss, and reared six children, viz: Mary J., wife of N. T. Chandler, of Wellsboro; William D., who was killed while a soldier in the Union army; Rankin L., of Wellsboro; Benjamin C., deceased; Helen, wife of James Shaw, of Wellsboro, and Charles, a resident of Moberly, Missouri. Mrs. Van Horn died February 17, 1870, and her husband married Mrs. Harriet Stevens. Both he and his wife are members of the Protestant Episcopal church, and he is connected with the Masonic order. In politics, he is a Republican, and has served on the school board and borough council.
RANKIN L. VAN HORN, of the firm of R. L. Van Horn & Son, booksellers and stationers, was born in Wellsboro, Tioga county, November 16, 1843, and is the oldest living son of Benjamin T. and Nancy Van Horn. He was educated in the public schools of his native town and when fifteen years of age began painting furniture in his father’s factory, and so continued up to January, 1872, when he and his brother-in-law, N. T. Chandler, purchased the business, which they continued up to 1894. On February 7, 1872, Mr. Van Horn bought the book and stationery store of B. C. & L. R. Van Horn, since carried on by himself and son under the firm name of R. L. Van Horn & Son. On September 19, 1866, Mr. Van Horn married Cornelia E. Chubbuck, a daughter of Col. Levi Chubbuck, of Wellsboro. Two children blessed this union, viz: Sadie, who died at the age of one year, and Lewis R., manager of the book store of R. L. Van Horn & Son. Mr. Van Horn is a member of the I. O. O. F.; is a Republican, in politics, and has served in the borough council.
WILLIAM B. VAN HORN, youngest son of William Van Horn, was born near Williamsport, Lycoming county, in 1822, and learned the cabinet maker’s trade in youth. He came to Wellsboro in 1842, followed his trade a few years, and then learned shoemaking, which he continued to work at the remaining years of his life. He married Amanda Green, of Charleston township, to which union were born three children, viz: Nancy, who died at the age of two years; Jenetta, who died at the age of eleven years, and William D., now president of the Wellsborough National Bank. Mr. Van Horn died in April, 1893; his widow resides with her son.
WILLIAM D. VAN HORN, president of the Wellsborough National Bank, was born in Charleston township, Tioga county, October 31, 1862, was reared in Wellsboro, and obtained his education in the High School of that town and at Eastman Business College, Poughkeepsie, New York, graduating from the latter institution in December, 1879. He then became book-keeper for Mathers, Graves & Company, January 1, 1880, and remained with them for three years. He next accepted a position as book-keeper in the First National Bank, of Wellsboro, where he remained up to October, 1888, when he was appointed cashier of the Wellsborough National Bank. He filled that position until January 14, 1896, on which date he was elected president of that institution, one of the leading banks in northern Pennsylvania. Mr. Van Horn was married April 12, 1887, to Miss Carrie R. Allen, a niece of Hon. Henry Sherwood, of Wellsboro. They are the parents of three children: William A., Edith and Howard E. Mr. and Mrs. Van Horn are members of the Presbyterian church, and he is one of the enterprising, progressive, and substantial business men of Wellsboro.
NORMAN T. CHANDLER, undertaker, was born in Granville, New York, December 8, 1833, a son of Charles and Clarinda B. (Averill) Chandler. His father, a son of Daniel Chandler, was born in New York state, June 13, 1794, learned the wagon-maker’s trade in boyhood, and followed that business until his death, June 21, 1837. His mother was a daughter of Jesse Averill, of Granville, and had the following children: Charles M., Minerva and Lyman A., all of whom are dead; John J., of Newark, New Jersey; Edgar D., a merchant of Cambridge, New York; Daniel L., Evelyn and Robert S., all deceased; Norman T., and Frederick I., a merchant of Granville, New York. When eight years old Norman T. went to live with his eldest brother, Charles, at Elba, New York. There he received his early education in the public school and when fifteen years of age engaged in clerking in a general store in Brockport, New York, where he remained three years. He next clerked in a drug store in Elmira one year, and in September, 1852, came to Wellsboro, Tioga county, and clerked for John R. Jones two years. Going to Rockford, Illinois, he clerked there one year and then returned to Wellsboro, and continued the same occupation for John R. Bowen for two years. The following year he worked in Fredonia, New York, and later was station agent at Oneida, Illinois, for the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy railroad. Returning to New York state, he clerked in Watertown for nine years, in Penn Yan for one year, and then went to Lansing, Michigan, and later to Detroit. In 1870 he returned to Wellsboro, and entered the store of his father-in-law, Benjamin T. Van Horn, for whom he clerked two years. In January, 1872, he formed a partnership with his brother-in-law, Rankin L. Van Horn, and they continued in business as manufacturers and dealers in furniture and undertaking until January 1, 1895, when W. D. Van Horn acquired R. L. Van Horn’s interest. In March, 1896, when the furniture business was purchased by Fred W. Siemens, Mr. Chandler continued the undertaking business. Mr. Chandler was married August 22, 1862, to Mary J. Van Horn, a daughter of Benjamin T. Van Horn. In politics, he is a Republican, and is also a member of the I. O. O. F., both Lodge and Encampment, and has been treasurer of the latter for the past twelve years. Mr. Chandler is one of the sound, progressive men of the community.
CARL L. SIEMENS was born in Germany, February 29, 1828; there obtained a college education and graduated from a medical institution in his native land. He came to the United States in 1853, and located at Leeds, Massachusetts, where he practiced his profession, and was a member of the staff in a hospital for four years. In 1837 he moved to Wellsboro, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, to accept a clerkship in the office of the Bingham estate, which position he filled for twenty-two years, resigning in 1879 to become a book-keeper in the United States Treasury Department, at Washington, D. C. He filled that position up to 1893, when ill health compelled him to resign. Mr. Siemens married Rachel Hiltbold, in 1855, who bore him a family of five children, viz: Mary J., wife of J. D. Locke, of Wellsboro; George H., who resides in the west; Fred W. and Robert C., residents of Wellsboro, and Frank L., deceased. Mrs. Siemens died March 29, 1883. Mr. Siemens resided in Wellsboro with his children until his death, April 24, 1897.
FRED W. SIEMENS, a son of Carl L. and Rachel Siemens, was born in Wellsboro, Tioga county, October 29, 1860. He was educated in the public schools of his native town, and when seventeen years old began clerking in the store of Harrington & Todd, and later filled a similar position in the store of Max Bernkopf, in all a period of five years. He then went to Washington, D. C. and clerked for Lansburg & Brother two years, then returned to Wellsboro and spent one year with Mr. Bernkopf. At the end of this time he became the junior member of the firm of Mathers, Graves & company, of Wellsboro, the partnership dating from march 4, 1885, since which year he has been the firm’s buyer of all dry goods handled by them. Mr. Siemens was married September 6, 1893, to Marion Simpson, a daughter of the late R. C. Simpson, of Wellsboro. He is a member of the F. & A. M., and a K. T. in that order, and has been chairman of the Republican county committee, to which party he has always given his support.
ADOLPHUS D. SPALDING, a son of Howard and Lucy Spalding, was born in Troy, Bradford county, April 27, 1813, his parents being members of pioneer families of that county. his boyhood and youth were spent on the farm, his education being acquired in the common schools. For several years during his early manhood he was engaged in mercantile pursuits as a clerk in Smithfield and Troy, and for a time also in farming. From 1851 to 1853, he was deputy sheriff and resided in Towanda. After returning to Troy, he resumed farming for a few years, until appointed railroad station agent at Troy. He held this position until 1865, when he was appointed postmaster at Troy, and served through Johnson’s administration. In June, 1873, he came to Wellsboro, and, in partnership with L. D. Taylor, purchased the drug business formerly carried on by John Pierce, then deceased. A year later he sold his interest to Mr. Taylor, and with his son, M. G. Spalding, bought out the drug store of Dr. M. L. Bacon, in the Wilcox block. Here they continued until the block just south of Coles House was completed, when they moved into the corner store room, which had been fitted up for their use. In 1884 they sold the business to Mr. Spalding’s son, George M., and he lived retired until his death, February 22, 1887. Mr. Spalding was twice married. His first marriage took place November 2, 1842, to Laura A. Morse, a daughter of Solomon Morse, of Troy. She bore him one child, Dallas F., a resident of Titusville, Pennsylvania. Mrs. Spalding died July 25, 1847, and on December 17, 1851, he married Sarah Conklin McDowell, a daughter of Addison and Louise McDowell, of Burlington, Bradford county. to this union there were born three children, viz: Morell G., a resident of Bradford, McKean county; George M., of Wellsboro, and Fannie, who married E. A. Van Valkenburg, of Wellsboro, and who died June 29, 1892, leaving one daughter, Florence. Mr. Spalding was a Democrat in politics, but was not active as a politician or office seeker. He was a member of the I. O. O. F., and as a business man and citizen was highly esteemed for his enterprise, public spirit and sterling integrity.
GEORGE M. SPALDING, son of A. D. and Sarah Spalding, was born in Troy, Pennsylvania, December 12, 1860, and was educated in the public schools of Troy and Wellsboro. In 1875, when but fifteen years of age, he began clerking in his father’s drug store in Wellsboro, continuing until 1884, when he purchased the business, and carried it on with marked success until 1894, when he sold out to E. E. Hyer, of the present firm of Hyer & Howd. For a short time after disposing of his drug business Mr. Spalding was engaged in the furniture business. In December, 1894, he embarked in the coal and warehouse business, which has since claimed his attention. Mr. Spalding was married October 12, 1882, to Florence Webb, a daughter of Dr. W. W. Webb, of Wellsboro. They have had two children, viz: Madge, deceased, and Mildred. In politics, Mr. Spalding is a Democrat. He has served as borough auditor; is the present treasurer of the school board, and is also a director in the First National Bank, of Wellsboro. He is an I.O.O.F. and a past officer in the lodge, chapter and commandery of the Masonic order. Mr. Spalding is a popular and progressive business man, and takes an active part in every enterprise calculated to promote the best interests of Wellsboro.
DAVID GARDNER, president of the Wellsboro Building and Loan Association, was born in Windsor, Broome county, New York, July 9, 1807, a son of Nathan and Charlotte (Tompkins) Gardner. He attended school in early boyhood for a brief period, and at ten years of age began to make his own living, working at anything he could get to do. Later he worked at the carpenter’s trade, and in a saw-mill, and finally went on the road as a peddler. He located at Orcutt Creek, Pennsylvania, and opened a general store in 1847, which he carried on successfully until 1875. In 1848 he was made postmaster at that point, but resigned in 1850, and was elected a justice of the peace, which position he filled five years. He was again appointed postmaster in 1861, and served continuously until 1875. From the latter year to 1880, he was a justice of the peace, and at the end of his term he came to Wellsboro, where he embarked in business with his son. In 1883 he obtained a charter for the Wellsboro Building and Loan Association, of which he was the first vice-president, and since 1886 has been president. Mr. Gardner was married September 29, 1829, to Florilla White, of Vermont, and has two children, Levi A., of Wellsboro, and Lysander B., of Elmira, New York. Mrs. Gardner died October 11, 1880, aged seventy-four years. Mr. Gardner is one of the oldest citizens of Wellsboro, being now in his ninetieth year.
LEVI A. GARDNER was born in Unadilla, Otsego county, New York, March 16, 1831, eldest child of David Gardner, and grew to manhood in his native State. He came to Tioga county in 1866, and opened a grocery store in Wellsboro, which he carried on for seven years, and then engaged in the insurance business, as secretary of the Wellsboro Building and Loan Association, which position he has filled in a satisfactory manner up to the present.
JULIUS C. WHEELER was born in Chenango county, New York, January 17, 1831, a son of Harry and Lucina Wheeler. He received a common school education, and when sixteen years old came to Tioga county, Pennsylvania, and engaged in lumbering on Pine creek. By industry and economy he accumulated a small capital, and in 1857 located in Wellsboro and embarked in the grocery and provision business, making a specialty of wholesaling supplies to lumber camps, railroad construction crews, and others demanding groceries and provisions in large quantities. He also dealt in coal and builders’ supplies. After the completion of the railroad to Wellsboro, his office, yeards and store house were near the station. Here he carried on his various enterprises until July 27, 1883, when he was run down by a locomotive engine and killed. Mr. Wheeler was married February 5, 1857, to Emily S. Barlte, a daughter of Augustus and Cynthia Bartle, to which union were born eight children, as follows: Emily Jeanett, wife of C. A. Willcox, of Delmar; Irene Lucina, wife of Harvey B. Leach, a well-known member of the Tioga county bar; Harry D., of Wellsboro; Hattie, wife of John W. Moyer, a school teacher of Philadelphia; Nellie, wife of Elmer E. Benjamin, of Delmar; Mary, wife of Arthur M. Keeney, of Keeneyville; Luella, wife of J. George March, a teacher in the Wellsboro High School, and Kate, who died in infancy. Mr. Wheeler was a thorough business man and scrupulously honorable in all his dealings. In the conduct of his business affairs he was active, enterprising and energetic. As a citizen, he was public-spirited and progressive, and as a man, esteemed and respected for his integrity. In politics, he was a Republican. He filled the office of burgess two years, being elected without opposition or effort on his part.
JOHN JACOB BURGIN was born near Basle, Switzerland, September 18, 1818, from an old and honored family. He grew to manhood in his native country and there married Jacobea Rudin. Of the children born to this union, the following named grew to maturity: John Jacob, who was killed by the railroad cars in Buffalo, New York, in July, 1893; Maria Louise, wife of Stephen Flick, of Williamsport, Pennsylvania; Emma, who died in Georgia; Rudolph, Bertha, wife of V. A. Putnam, of Kane, Pennsylvania, and Minnie E., who resides in Wellsboro. Mr. Burgin was a man of wealth and influence in his native land, where he filled an honorable office in the revenue department of the republic. He was also a member of the rifle corps, and like nearly all his countrymen was an expert marksmen. Having lost his property by indorsing for others, he came to the United States in October, 1867, and lived for a time near Elk Run, Potter county, whence he moved to Wellsboro and opened a bakery which he conducted until 1890, when he sold out to O. G. Padgett. He died August 31, 1892, aged seventy-four years. His widow, who is now eighty years of age, resides in Wellsboro. Although prominent in public affairs in his native land, Mr. Burgin, after coming to this country, refrained from active participation in politics, devoting his whole attention to business matters. His youngest daughter, Minnie E., is the proprietor of the "Candy Kitchen" in Wellsboro, which she has successfully carried on for several years. She is a deputy state organizer of the Ladies of the Maccabees, holds the office of sergeant in the Great Hive of the State, and to her efforts has been largely due the rapid growth of that order in Tioga county.
JESSE LOCKE, SR., was born in Cincinnatus, Cortland county, New York, April 3, 1804, a son of Jesse Locke, a native of Connecticut, who married Rebecca Merritt and reared a family of nine children. His father died in 1813 and his mother in 1848. On May 13, 1824, he married Lura Rexford, a native of Hartford, Connecticut, born January 23, 1804, to which union were born eleven children, six of whom grew to maturity, viz: Jane, who married William Thompson; Lovisa L., and Sarah M., widow of Silas X. Billings, both residents of Wellsboro; Fannie M., wife of L. A. Sears, Jesse, a merchant of Wellsboro, and Job D. The last mentioned was a well-known farmer and died at his home in Wellsboro, February 28, 1889, in the forty-eighth year of his age. He was an industrious, substantial citizen and enjoyed the respect and esteem of his neighbors. In 1842 Mr. Locke and family removed to Tioga county and settled on Pine creek, in Shippen township, where he was extensively engaged in lumbering. He owned large tracts of timber lands and operated several saw-mills and a grist-mill on Pine creek; also carried on a general store in Wellsboro, and was one of the successful business men of that period. He died at his home on Pine creek, July 12, 1849. In the spring of 1851 his widow and family removed to Wellsboro, where Mrs. Locke died December 2, 1874. She was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church and an earnest Christian woman.
JESSE LOCKE was born in Cortland county, New York, October 31, 1839, and was educated in the Wellsboro Academy, being but three years old when his parents came to Tioga county. When twenty-five years of age he embarked in merchandising at Gaines, where he still carries on business. In December, 1890, he moved to Wellsboro, and in June, 1896, became a member of the firm of Locke & Kelts, general grocers and dealers in boots and shoes. Mr. Locke was married on February 26, 1865, to Sarah E. Watrous, a daughter of James H. Watrous, of Gaines. During his residence in Gaines township, he served as a school director several years, and was one of the substantial citizens of that locality for a quarter of a century.
EZRA BENEDICT YOUNG was born in Springfield township, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, October 24, 1846, a son of Russell B. and Jemima (Bailey) Young. His father was born in Middletown Connecticut, in 1807, and was a son of Sylvanus and Betsy Young, the fourth in a family of seven children. He came to Springfield township, Bradford county, in 1837, and resided there until his death in 1887. His mother is still living in that county. They reared a family of ten children, as follows: Elisha, deceased; Sarah, wife of H. A. Brigham; Louisa, wife of J. L. Spencer; William R., John W. and Asahel B., all farmers of Springfield township, Bradford county; Ezra B., of Wellsboro; Ralph B., a resident of Springfield township; Augusta E., wife of Colin Wood and Darius M., a farmer of Smithfield, Bradford county. The subject of this sketch attended the common schools of his native township, and later Susquehanna Collegiate Institute, at Towanda, and the State Normal School, at Mansfield, graduating from the latter institution in 1868. He then taught school for three years in Bradford and Juniata counties, at the end of which time he entered the office of Hon. John I. Mitchell, of Wellsboro, as a law student. During his legal studies he also taught school. He was admitted to the Tioga county bar April 6, 1874, and to the United States district and circuit courts in June, 1880. Since his admission to practice he has devoted but little attention to it, having been engaged in mercantile business. Mr. Young was married April 16, 1874, to Mary A. McElheny, a daughter of Thomas and Adelaide McElheny, of Ithaca, New York, and has two children, Adelaide T. and Sarah L. The family are adherents of the Presbyterian church, and Mr. Young is a member of the Masonic order. In politics, a Republican, he has filled the offices of school director and notary public, and is one of the substantial business men and enterprising citizens of Wellsboro, where he carries on one of the leading hardware stores in the county.
GEORGE O. DERBY, of the firm of Derby & Son, boot and shoe merchants, was born in Groton, Massachusetts, June 7, 1832, and is a son of Oliver and Elizabeth (Hadley) Derby, natives of that State. He received a common school and academical education in his native town, and when eighteen years of age went to work in a boot and shoe factory as a cutter of sole leather. In 1856 he came to Wellsboro, Tioga county, where he worked as a shoemaker until 1866, in which year he established his present business. In the meantime, on April 22, 1861, he enlisted in Company E, Thirteenth Pennsylvania Reserve, known as the "Bucktails," and was discharged at Philadelphia, on account of disability, in November, 1862. Returning to Wellsboro he worked at his trade until he started in business for himself, some four years later. Mr. Derby was married in 1856, to Susan P. Wood, a daughter of Harvey Wood, and has three children: George H., Edward H. and Ada M., wife of C. L. Farnsworth, of Bradford. The family are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, and Mr. Derby is connected with the I. O. O. F. In politics, he is a Republican, and has served in the borough council for two years.
GEORGE H. DERBY, of the boot and shoe firm of George O. Derby & Son, was born in Dudley, Massachusetts, July 6, 1857, and is the oldest child of George O. and Susan P. Derby. He was educated in the Wellsboro High School, and in 1877, when twenty years of age, he was engaged as pitcher for the Hornellsville, New York, baseball team. In the spring of 1878 he again played with the same team for four months, but finished the season with the Syracuse club. In 1879 and 1880 he played with the Washington team of the International League, and in 1881-82 with the Detroit National League club. In the spring of 1883 he became a member of the Buffalo club, but after playing a part of the season his arm gave out and he retired from that profession. He was a very successful pitcher, few, if any, excelling him in that line. On his retirement from the diamond, he entered his father’s shoe store, in which he had purchased an interest in 1881, since which time he has been a member of the firm. Mr. Derby was married September 9, 1880, to Ella A. Robinson, of Wellsboro, and has two children, Frank H. and Ralph. The family attend the Methodist Episcopal church. He is a member of the F. & A. M. and the I. O. O. F. societies. In politics, Mr. Derby is a Republican, has been a member of the borough council for the past eight years, and served as burgess in 1892 and 1893. He is director in the First National Bank, vice-president of the Wellsboro Building and Loan Association, and at present a member of the Wellsboro school board.
NOAH HAMMOND was born in Glens Falls, New York, November 7, 1829; married Elizabeth Williams, and in 1854 located on a farm in Charleston township, Tioga county, Pennsylvania. They were the parents of five children, named as follows: William A., a merchant of Wellsboro; Mary, wife of F. L. Dunham, of Farmington township; Calvin, deceased; Eugene, a merchant of Wellsboro, and Anna R. Mr. Hammond died upon his farm April 7, 1873. His widow lives with their son, Eugene.
WILLIAM A. HAMMOND, of the firm of W. A. Hammond & Brother, grocers, was born in Charleston township, Tioga county, November 17, 1854, and is the eldest child of Noah Hammond. He was reared upon the homestead farm, and obtained his education in the public schools and at Allen’s Business College, Elmira, New York. He worked as a farm hand a few years, then went to Barclay, Bradford county, and took a position as delivery clerk in a grocery store, which he filled for two years. In April, 1884, he opened his present store in Wellsboro, and sold an interest in the same to his brother Eugene in 1887, since which time the firm of W. A. Hammond & Brother has carried on the business. On October 13, 1881, Mr. Hammond married Ida H. Preble, a daughter of L. J. Preble, of Charleston township. They are members of the Baptist church, and he is connected with the I. O. O. F. In politics, he is a Republican, and is a member of the present borough council.
EUGENE HAMMOND, youngest son of Noah Hammond, was born in Charleston township, Tioga county, January 17, 1862, resided on the farm until 1887, and then purchased an interest in his brother’s store, since which time he has been the junior member of the firm of W. A. Hammond & Brother, general grocers. He married Miss May B. McCallum, a daughter of William H. McCallum, of Lawrence township, and has one son, William E. Politically, he is a Republican.
RUDOLPH PAGAN, jeweler, was born in Switzerland, December 13, 1840, a son of Abraham and Mary (Heuselman) Pagan, natives of that country. He was educated in the common schools of his native land, and there learned the watchmaker’s trade, which he followed in Switzerland up to 1867. In that year he came to New York City, where he worked at his trade a year and a half, and subsequently spent ten years and a half in Elmira, New York. In 1879 he located in Wellsboro, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, worked a year and a half at his trade, and then opened a store with a full line of jewelry, watches, clocks and silverware, which business he has since carried on successfully. Mr. Pagan was married in Switzerland, December 30, 1866, to Emma Kocher, a daughter of Stephen Kocher, to which union have been born five children, three of whom survive, viz: Arthur F., a painter; Edward F., a clerk in a drug store, and Frank. The family are connected with the Presbyterian church, and Mr. Pagan is a member of the Masonic order. In politics, he is in sympathy with the principles of the Republican party.
WILLIAM CLYMER KRESS was born in Wellsboro, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, in December, 1846, a son of George C. and Eliza Kress. His father was a clerk in the Bingham land office at Wellsboro for many years, and died June 30, 1860. His mother died October 12, 1863. William was reared to manhood in his native town and obtained his education in the public schools. He married Mary Adeline Bache, youngest daughter of the venerable William Bache, to which union were born five children, three of whom are living, as follows: Anna Mabel, George William Bache, and Maud Ethel. Mr. Kress spent his entire life in Wellsboro, and was one of its well-known, active business men. He was engaged in the drug business and later carried on a foundry and machine shop for several years. When the water works plant was built, Mr. Kress was employed in its construction, and filled the position of superintendent of the works until the time of his death. He planned and supervised the erection of the Bache Auditorium, corner of Pearl street and East avenue, Wellsboro, completed in the autumn of 1894 at a cost of $16,000, the principal position of which was contributed by his father-in-law. Soon after the completion of this substantial and commodious structure, Mr. Kress began to fail in health, and died June 26, 1895, from cancer of the stomach. He was one of the progressive and enterprising citizens of the borough, and his death was regretted by a large circle of friends.
JOHN HARMAN was one of the first settlers of Tioga county, Pennsylvania, whither he came from Adams county. He was a miller, and built one of the first grist-mills in the county, near the village of Liberty, which he operated up to his death, in 1824. Mr. Harman was twice married, and reared a family of eleven children. By the first marriage there were Katie, Susan, Betsey, Thomas, Isaac, John, William and Henry; and by the second marriage, Andrew, Daniel and Benjamin.
ISAAC HARMAN was born in Adams county, Pennsylvania, in 1790, and came to Tioga county with his father, where he worked in the mill built by the latter until 1834. The remainder of his life was passed on a farm in Liberty township. He married Nancy Hagenbush, born in 1800, in Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, who became the mother of six children, viz: Joseph H., of Wellsboro; Harriet, deceased; Matilda, deceased wife of David Landis; Sarah, wife of John Whitaker, of Kansas; Philemon, a miller of Dundee, New York, and Lorinda, wife of John Wiltsey, of Kansas. Mr. Harman died in 1864, and his wife in 1878.
JOSEPH H. HARMAN, treasurer and architect of the Wellsboro Manufacturing and Building Company, was born in Liberty township, Tioga county, June 18, 1829, and was educated in the public schools. When eighteen years of age he went to learn the carpenter’s trade in Covington, and followed that business until 1871, in which year he moved to Wellsboro, and continued working at his trade up to 1878. He then became a member of the firm of Harman, Borden & Company, which was finally merged into the Wellsboro Manufacturing and Building Company. Mr. Harman married Lucy Gaylord, a daughter of Elijah Gaylord, of Covington, Tioga county, May 4, 1854, to which union have been born three children, viz: Hattie L., wife of Irwin Keefer, of Wellsboro; Beverly W., who died at the age of seventeen, and Edith, wife of Raymond Houghton, of Wellsboro. The family are members of the Methodist Episcopal church. Politically, Mr. Harman is a Prohibitionist, and is also a member of the I. O. O. F.
ROBERT J. BORDEN, superintendent and one of the managers of the Wellsboro Manufacturing and Building Company, Limited, was born in Delhi, Delaware county, New York, March 2, 1844, a son of William and Elizabeth (Weismore) Borden. His father, a machinist by occupation, came to Tioga county in 1853, and located at Niles Valley, where he followed lumbering for some years, afterwards devoting his attention to farming. He died in January, 1862, and his wife in October, 1883. Robert J. was educated in the public schools of his native county, and in those of Tioga county. on October 19, 1861, when in his eighteenth year, he enlisted in Company L, Second Pennsylvania Cavalry. He served in the battle of Slater Mountain, acted as orderly for General Pope at Second Bull Run, and was sent on detached duty just prior to the battle of Fredericksburg. He was honorably discharged November 21, 1864, and was then appointed a mounted messenger to the paymaster general, in which capacity he served until 1870. Returning to Tioga county, he was engaged in farming and lumbering in Charleston township up to 1880, when he bought an interest in the industry of which he is now superintendent. The plant was established in 1878, by Joseph H. Harman and Isaac P. Borden, was operated by Harmen, Borden & Company up to May 1, 1892, and was then merged into a stock company, under the title of the Wellsboro Manufacturing and Building Company, Limited. They manufacture all kinds of builders’ supplies, buying most of their lumber on the stump, and do a large contracting and building business, employing twenty-five hands. Mr. Borden was married July 15, 1864, to Miss Fannie B. Monshower, of Carroll county, Maryland, who has borne him six children, viz: William, who died in infancy; Minnie M., wife of F. H. Smith, of Wellsboro; Lolo E., wife of L. R. Van horn, of the same place; William R., Catharine and Eloise. The family are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, and Mr. Borden is connected with the I. O. O. F. In politics, a Republican, he has served as school director, councilman and burgess of Wellsboro.
ALFRED I. NICHOLS, of the firm of A. I. Nichols & Son, millers, was born in Addison, Steuben county, New York, February 16, 1837, a son of Alfred and Mary (Drew) Nichols, natives of Rhode Island and Maine, respectively. He was educated in the common schools of his native town, and when twenty-one years of age began farming at Tuscarora, Steuben county, and followed that business until 1885, when he came to Wellsboro and opened a hardware store on Main street. He carried on this business four years, then sold out and purchased the mill property, which he has since owned and operated. Mr. Nichols married Sarah E. Bache, a daughter of the venerable William Bache, of Wellsboro, to which union have been born six children, viz: Anna B., Emily D., wife of C. R. Converse; William B., a member of the firm; Enos A., Maud and Blanche. Mr. Nichols and wife attend the Protestant Episcopal church. Their son William, now known as William Bache, Jr., was born in Tuscarora, Steuben county, New York, June 19, 1873, and was educated in the common schools of his native town and the Wellsboro High School. The firm carries on a wholesale and retail business, and ship their flour to all parts of Pennsylvania.
COL. JUSTUS DARTT, a soldier of the Revolution, and after that a colonel in the Vermont militia, settled in what is now known as Dartt settlement, in Charleston township, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, in the year 1811. He was one of the county commissioners in 1815, and in 1817 was appointed one of the trustees of the Wellsboro Academy. When he came to the county he purchased 160 acres of land, built his cabin in the midst of the primitive forest, and settled down to make for himself and family a home. He followed lumbering and farming up to his death, July 5, 1838, aged eighty-one years. His wife, Hannah, departed this life January 14, 1844, at the ripe age of eighty-six. They were the founders of the Dartt family of Tioga county, and have numerous descendants in this section of the State.
CYRUS DARTT, a son of Col. Justus and Hannah Dartt, was born in Castleton, Vermont, October 25, 1800, and was about eleven years old when his parents settled in Charleston township, Tioga county. he followed farming all his life, residing on the farm settled by his father. In 1820 he married Lydia Kelley, who bore him a family of eight children, viz: Horace, Solon S., Hiram W., Charles N., Lydia, Irena M., Fidelia H. and Amelia R. His wife dying, he was again married in 1837, to Matilda Sweet, to which union were born three children: Albert, Elenora and Hannah. Mr. Dartt died in 1883 in Wellsboro, having spent his entire life in this county and principally upon the old homestead in Charleston township.
HIRAM W. DARTT, third son of Cyrus and Lydia (Kelley) Dartt, was born on the homestead farm in the dartt settlement, October 17, 1825, and attended the district schools of the neighborhood. When eighteen years of age he began working at the carpenter’s trade, but two years later engaged with S. B. Kendall, of Wellsboro, to learn wagon making. Six months afterwards he purchased an interest in the business, and has followed the trade up to the present time. In 1888 he sold the manufacturing plant and business to his son, A. P. Dartt. In 1854 Mr. Dartt married Adeline Potter, who has borne him seven children, viz: Edgar S., Franklin H., assistant superintendent of the Blossburg Coal Company, at Arnot; Effie, wife of Mark L. Smith, of Scranton; Albert P., Robert R., Arthur H. and Addie. The family are members of the Presbyterian church, and in politics, adherents of the Republican party.
EDGAR S. DARTT, eldest son of Hiram W. Dartt, was born in Wellsboro, Tioga county, December 19, 1855; received a common school education, and later worked for ten years in the paint shop of R. L. Mack. In 1888, in partnership with Wisehart & Keefer, he bought the present plant. It was burned, then rebuilt, and leased by himself and brother, Albert P. Mr. Dartt was married November 16, 1896, to Mrs. Lovina L. Longwell, a daughter of James Hall, of Charleston township. In politics, Mr. Dartt is a Republican; was tax collector of the borough from 1888 to 1890, and filled the office of constable from 1888 to 1892. He is a member of the Presbyterian church.
ALBERT P. DARTT, son of Hiram W. Dartt, was born in Wellsboro, Tioga county, December 11, 1861, attended the public schools of his native town, and when sixteen years of age entered his father’s shop to learn the wagon-making trade. In 1888 he and his brother, Edgar S., purchased the business from their father, and have since conducted it, manufacturing all kinds of wagons and sleighs, and giving employment to twelve men. They also carry on in connection with the factory a retail harness tore. Mr. Dartt was married October 13, 1887, to Carrie M., daughter of Gen. Robert C. Cox, and has one child, Mildred M. Mrs. Dartt died February 24, 1891. He was married a second time March 20, 1895, to Sarah M. Williams, a daughter of Orrin E. Williams. He is a member of the Presbyterian church, also of the I. O. O. F., and in politics, a Republican.
ARTHUR H. DARTT, youngest son of Hiram W. Dartt, was born in Wellsboro, October 19, 1868; was educated in the High School, and when sixteen years of age began working in the blacksmith shop in his father’s factory. After learning the trade, he engaged with his brothers, A. P. & E. S. Dartt, for whom he worked three years and then went to Buffalo, New York, where he followed his trade until January 1, 1894, when he again entered the employ of his brothers, as assistant manager, which position he now fills. He was married August 22, 1894, to Miss Kate Van Valkenburg, daughter of Henry and Hattie (Wilson) Van Valkenburg, of Wellsboro. He is a member of Tyoga Lodge, No. 230, and Wellsboro Encampment, No. 78, I. O. O. F.
JOHN GISIN, tanner and dealer in hides and pelts, was born in Switzerland, November 18, 1840, and is a son of Sebastian and Anna (Prack) Gisin. He was reared in his native land, and in 1865 immigrated to the United States. after a few months of travel through the country, he located in Nelson, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, and in June, 1866, commenced learning the tanner’s trade with C. F. Margraff, of that borough. He worked for that gentleman nine years, and then removed to Patterson, New Jersey, where he purchased a fancy goods and millinery store, which he conducted five years. Coming to Wellsboro in 1881, he purchased the tannery of Joseph Riberolle, which he carried on until October, 1866, when the plant was burned. He immediately rebuilt on a larger scale, and now operates the only tannery in the borough. Mr. Gisin was married October 22, 1869, to Louisa A. Margraff, a daughter of Fred Margraff, who has borne him four children, viz: Anna, a teacher in the public schools; Nellie, who died at the age of three years; Mabel, and Mattie. The family attend the Protestant Episcopal church. In politics, Mr. Gisin is a Republican, and is a member of the I. O. O. F.
ROBERT H. FLEMING came from Michigan to Tioga county, Pennsylvania, in 1865, bringing his family with him. They located at Tioga, where he worked at shoemaking for two years, then moved to Stony Fork, and four years later to Corning, New York; thence to Antrim, and finally to Hoytville, Tioga county. His wife, Catherine (Greek) Fleming, was the mother of nine children, five of whom are living, viz: Adelia A., wife of Zealous Austin, of Morris Run; Lester M., of Wellsboro; Martha, wife of H. L. Spencer, of Delmar; Addie, wife of Louis Bulss, of Blossburg, and Jennie, of the same borough. Mr. Flleming died at Hoytville, August 27, 1889. His widow resides with her daughter in Blossburg.
LESTER M. FLEMING, of the firm of Spencer & Fleming, proprietors of the Keystone Flouring Mills, was born in Dundee, Monroe county, Michigan, September 19, 1859, and is the only living son of Robert H. and Catherine Fleming. He was six years old when the family came to Tioga county, and he was here educated in the common schools. When sixteen years of age he entered the employ of Alenson Spencer, his present partner, and after seventeen years of faithful service, he bought an interest in the mill, September 7, 1891, and is now a member of the firm. Mr. Fleming was married April 27, 1876, to Susie M. Spencer, a daughter of Alenson, and has two children, Edward Monroe and Alenson Robert. Mr. Fleming is a member of the P. of H. and has been connected with the choir of the Methodist Episcopal church of Wellsboro for the past eight years.
LUCIUS TRUMAN, a native of Owego, New York, followed lumbering on Pine creek for twenty-five years, and later carried on the same business in Wellsboro. He served in the rebellion as first lieutenant of Company E, and later as quartermaster of the famous "Bucktail" regiment. He married Mary P. Leach, of Owego, New York, who bore him the following children: Albert A., Hattie, wife of J. W. Van Valkenberg, and Louis F., all residents of Wellsboro; Elizabeth, deceased wife of W. P. Bigoney; Irving L., a resident of Trout Run, Lycoming county; Lilla, and Herman L., both deceased. Mrs. Truman died in Owego in 1863, aged forty-six years. He again married, Mary Doumaux, who bore him three children: Belle, Edgar, deceased, and Nellie. Mr. Truman died in Wellsboro, in May, 1890, aged seventy-two years. His widow resides in that borough.
ALBERT A. TRUMAN, agent of the American Express Company at Wellsboro, was born in Owego, New York, October 6, 1841, and is the eldest child of Lucius and Mary P. (Leach) Truman. He was educated in the common schools, and on April 25, 1861, he enlisted in the United States navy, served two months on the receiving ship, Princeton, and was then assigned to duty as landsman on the St. Lawrence, a frigate of fifty guns, upon which he spent two years. He was then made yeoman of the bark Pursuit, was later transferred to the steamer Union, and was discharged in June, 1863. Returning to Owego he clerked in a dry goods store for a few months, later followed the same business at Corning one year, and then came to Wellsboro, where he purchased an interest in the store of O. Bullard, which he disposed of a year later and then clerked for Converse & Osgood one year; for J. R. Bowen two years, and Laugher Bache one year. he next embarked in the grocery business, but sold out at the end of a year and engaged in draying, which he followed five years. He then went to the Black Hills, where he worked in the gold mines nineteen months. Returning to Wellsboro, he clerked for E. B. Young one year, and then accepted the position as station agent of the Fall Brook railroad at Middlebury. Six months later he went to Corning as agent for the American Express Company, and at the end of a year was appointed messenger for the same company on the Fall Brook railroad. In April, 1882, he was transferred to Wellsboro, where he has since been the agent of that company. Mr. Truman was married November 25, 1868, to Anna Stowell Bache, a daughter of John N. Bache, of Wellsboro, who has borne him three children, viz: Lilla, who died in infancy; Minnie B., a teacher in the Wellsboro High School, and John Norris Bache, book-keeper for the Wellsborough National Bank. The family are members of the Protestant Episcopal church, in which body Mr. Truman is a vestryman and secretary of the vestry for the past three years. Mr. Truman is a member of Ossea Lodge, No. 317, F. & A. M.; Tyoga Chapter, No. 194, R. A. M., of which he is now the Scribe, and Tyagaghton Commandery, No. 28, K. T. He is also a member of George Cook Post, No. 315, G. A. R., in which he has filled the offices of commander and adjutant.
WILLIAM O’CONNOR was born in Carlton county, New Brunswick, February 14, 1853. His father, Charles O’Connor, was a native of Ireland and immigrated to New Brunswick in early manhood, where he married Lovina Birmingham, who bore him nine children, five of whom are living, viz: John, a resident of Stokesdale; James and William, of Wellsboro; Elizabeth, wife of John Groom, of Rolling Dam, New Brunswick, and Matilda, wife of Zebulon Gilman, of Aroostook county, Maine. The father died in 1858, and his widow married Samuel Darkis, since deceased. She now resides in Aroostook county, Maine. William received a common school education, and began in life for himself when sixteen years of age. Coming to Wellsboro, he accepted such employment as offered, later began lumbering, and then engaged in general contracting. By constant industry and strict attention to business, he enlarged his enterprises and widened the field of his operations until he is now interested as a partner in the company stores at Arnot and Landrus, and a stockholder in the bank at Galeton, Potter county. He also owns a valuable farm in Morris township, and is engaged in lumbering operations at Nelson Run, Potter county. Mr. O’Connor was married May 13, 1873, to Martha Webster, a daughter of J. E. Webster, of Morris township, and has three children, viz: Lura, Ada and Edna. In 1876 he became a resident of Morris, and lived there until the spring of 1896, when he removed to Wellsboro, purchasing the residence of the late Dr. Hugh L. Davis. In politics, Mr. O’Connor is a stanch Democrat, but has never been an office seeker, his business affairs receiving all his time and attention. It can be said to his credit, that from a penniless boy, he has, since coming to Tioga county, by his own efforts and energy, raised himself to a prominent place among the successful business men of this section of the State, and that his career has been marked by a strict adherence to honorable business methods. He enjoys the confidence of his business associates and the respect and esteem of his fellow-citizens generally.
REV. M. J. MANLY, pastor of St. Peter’s Catholic church of Wellsboro, was born in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, March 19, 1861, a son of Michael J. and Mary H. (Judge) Manly. His parents were natives of Ireland, his father being born and reared in County Mayo and his mother in County Limerick. They were married in their native land and came to Wilkes-Barre in 1854, where Mr. Manly became a railroad contractor. He died in 1868, and his wife in 1872. They were the parents of the following named children: Catherine and Maria Josephine, of Wilkes-Barre; Julia, who died June 27, 1883, being then Sister Mary of St. Peter, in the convent of the Good Shepherd, Philadelphia; Maggie, who died in February, 1883; M. J. and Anthony. The subject of this sketch attended the public schools of Wilkes-Barre in boyhood, and later spent a year and a half as a student in the Protestant Seminary of Kingston, Luzerne county. He then entered St. Bonaventure’s College, Allegany, New York, where took a course in classics and philosophy, graduating with the degree of B. A. He next entered St. Mary’s Seminary, Baltimore, Maryland, where he completed his theological course, and was ordained in that city October 8, 1883, by Cardinal Gibbons and Bishop Northrup. He soon after took charge of a church at Honesdale, Pennsylvania, but within a year was appointed pastor of St. Catherine’s church, Moscow, having charge also of the churches at Tobyhanna, Stroudsburg and Gouldsboro, which pastorate he filled seven years. On November 17, 1890, he took charge of St. Peter’s church at Wellsboro. He has also under his care the mission churches at Tioga, Antrim and Hoytville, and seventeen additional missions without churches within the confines of Tioga county. Father Manly is a popular priest, a very eloquent speaker, and one of the hardest-working priests in the Diocese of Scranton.
ELMER BACON, a native of Vermont, came to Charleston township, Tioga county, early in the present century and settled near Round Top, where he followed farming and lumbering. He married Mary Merrick, a daughter of Israel Merrick, Sr., one of the pioneers of Wellsboro. Eleven children were born to this union, as follows: George, a resident of Nebraska; Elmer, deceased; Mary, deceased wife of W. P. Shumway; Henry, a resident of Dakota; Rebecca, widow of John A. McEwen, of Williamsport; Niram, a resident of Wisconsin; Levi L., who enlisted in the New York Southern Tier Rifles during the Rebellion and died at Georgetown, D. C.; Morgan L., a physician of Wellsboro; Sarah, wife of R. F. Wilson, of the same place, and David, deceased. Mr. Bacon died in Charleston township in April, 1847, and his wife in 1873.
MORGAN L. BACON, M. D., was born in Charleston township, Tioga county, June 19, 1837, a son of Elmer and Mary Bacon. After attending the common schools he became a student in the Wellsboro Academy and later in Union Academy, at Academy Corners, graduating from the latter institution in 1857. After teaching for a short time he began the study of medicine under Dr. Nelson Packer, of Wellsboro, which he pursued until 1861, when he enlisted as a hospital steward in the Forty-second Pennsylvania Volunteers, the famous Bucktail regiment, and served four months. In July, 1863, he raised Company E, of the Thirty-fifth regiment, Emergency Men, of which he was commissioned captain, and was discharged with the regiment. Dr. Bacon then began the practice of his profession in Mansfield, remaining there five years. In 1868 h moved to Blossburg, where he practiced until 1870, and then became the physician of the Morris Run Coal Mining Company at Morris Run, where he practiced two years. In 1872 he located in Wellsboro, and for the past twenty-five years has continued in the active duties of his profession, being to-day one of the oldest practitioners in the borough. On November 30, 1863, Dr. Bacon married Eva Bailey, a daughter of John W. Bailey, and has three children, viz: John E., a physician of Buffalo; Dana S., a real estate dealer of Model City, New York, and Morgan L., a medical student in the Buffalo University. Dr. Bacon is recognized as a skillful and successful physician and stands high in his profession. He was a member of the pension board under Cleveland’s first administration and is secretary of the present pension board of Tioga county. He is also the local surgeon of the Fall Brook Railroad Company and has built up a large and lucrative practice. In politics, he is a stanch Democrat, has served as a school director for thirteen years, and is the present health officer of Wellsboro. In religion, Dr. Bacon is a consistent member of the Presbyterian church.
HUGH LLEWELLYN DAVIS, M. D., was one of the best known physicians of Tioga county during his professional career. He was born at Summit Hill, Carbon county, Pennsylvania, December 10, 1851, a son of Reese L. and Mary (Evans) Davis. His parents were natives of Wales and came to Charleston township, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, in 1832. After a short stay they removed to Carbon county, but many years later returned to Charleston township, where both resided until death, the father dying February 16, 1891, and the mother, June 5, 1892. They reared a family of eight children, Hugh L. being a small child when the family returned to Tioga county. Our subject attended the common schools of Charleston and subsequently the State Normal School at Mansfield. He then taught for five years in different parts of Tioga county. In 1870 he commenced the study of medicine under Dr. Nelson Packer, of Wellsboro, and graduated from Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, in March, 1875. He soon after opened an office at Knoxville, whence he removed in 1876 to Arnot, and a year later to West Hampton, Massachusetts. In the autumn of 1879 he returned to Wellsboro where he soon built up a large practice and continued in the active duties of his profession until his death, from cerebral hemorrhage, December 19, 1895. Dr. Davis was one of those genial, large-hearted men who had a cordial greeting for every one. His kindly and sympathetic nature and encouraging words in the sick room drew many hearts to him. Ambitious and physically strong, charitable, and in love with his profession, he was always ready to answer a call regardless of the prospect of remuneration. On June 16, 1875, he married Emma Janette Karr, daughter of John Karr, of Wellsboro. His widow and two sons, Hugh Karr and Donald Lewellyn, are left to mourn the death of a kind husband and father. Dr. Davis was Past Master of Ossea Lodge, F. & A. M. and Eminent commander of Tyagaghton Commandery. He was also connected with the I. O. O. F. and the Alert Hose Company. In politics, a Republican, he was serving in the borough council at the time of his death, the duties of which office he discharged with zeal and discretion. Upon the minutes of Tyagaghton Commandery is inscribed the following tribute to his memory:
As a man and a citizen he was upright, fair and courageous, and he always endeavored to do his duty according to his light. He never sought for office of emolument, but willingly shared the burdens of the administration of local government. He won the affection and esteem of all those who employed him professionally, and his uniform courtesy to every one made his friends legion.
As a member of the Masonic fraternity he has engraved his memory upon our hearts, more lasting and enduring than can be chiseled upon tablets of stone. He has fallen in life’s battle, with his armor on, manfully fighting his way in the foremost rank, a martyr to duty.
AUGUSTUS NILES, M. D., was born upon the old homestead in Tioga township, Tioga county, November 10, 1853. He is the eldest son of Augustus E. Niles, a grandson of Augustus Niles, and a great-grandson of Nathan Niles, Sr., one of the first settlers in the Tioga valley. During his boyhood he attended the public schools of Tioga borough, where he obtained a good education. He attended lectures at Bennett Medical College, Chicago, Illinois, graduating from that institution in 1875, in which year he began practice at Nelson, Tioga county. in 1878 he removed to Keeneyville, where he practiced fifteen years. In 1893 he located in Wellsboro, and has since built up an extensive professional business and is recognized as a successful physician and skillful surgeon. He has been a member of the state board of medical examiners since its creation, March 4, 1894, and is a member of the medical council of Pennsylvania. Dr. Niles was married April 11, 1875, to Mary J. Knuppenburg, a daughter of Dana A. Knuppenburg, of Nelson, and has two children, Augustus and Jerome D. In politics, Dr. Niles is a Republican, and has served two terms as coroner of Tioga county, from 1890 to 1896. He is a member of the I. O. O. F., and is also connected with the lodge, chapter and commandery in the Masonic order.
DR. L. M. JOHNSON was born at Bethany, Genesee county, New York, February 16, 1818, a son of Nichols and Lucy (Reynolds) Johnson, the former a native of South Carolina, and the latter of New York. He was educated at Bath and Geneva, New York, and at the age of thirty began reading medicine with Dr. M. F. Babcock, of Hammondsport, New York, and later took a course in the Medical Department of the University of Michigan, at Ann Arbor. He then engaged in the practice of medicine at Galesburgh, Michigan, where he remained one year, and afterwards traveled a few years. In 1858 he came to Wellsboro, Tioga county, opened an office and began the practice of his profession. Here he remained in active practice until 1870, when failing health compelled him to give up a portion of his practice. He removed to his farm in Charleston township, which he had purchased in 1869, remained there three years, and devoted his attention to farming. In 1873 he returned to Wellsboro and resumed practice. In 1882 he went to North Dakota, remaining there until 1889. He then returned to Wellsboro, where he lived two years, and again took up his residence on his farm. In 1896 he returned to Wellsboro, and resumed the practice of medicine. Dr. Johnson has been married twice. In 1856 he married Elizabeth Lockwood, of New York. She died in 1857, and in 1866, he married Sarah E. Wilson, of Charleston township. They have an adopted daughter, Kate.
DR. JOEL ROSE was born in Roseville, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, June 2, 1820, a son of William Rose, a native of Rutland, Vermont, who came to Tioga county in 1806, settled on the site of Roseville, in what is now Rutland township, being one of the first settlers of that part of the county. Joel attended the common schools in boyhood, and later studied medicine under Dr. Abel Humphrey, of Tioga, and graduated at Geneva Medical College, Geneva, New York. He commenced practice at Roseville, where he continued until 1863, in which year he removed to Detroit, Michigan, and followed his professional duties in that city until his death, July 9, 1868. Dr. Rose married Alvira Stevens, and reared a family of four children, viz: Celia D., deceased wife of J. H. Desrosiers; Frank H., a dentist of Wellsboro; Clara E., wife of Charles Pepper, of Chicago, and Elizabeth, deceased. Mrs. Rose resides with her daughter in Chicago.
FRANK HAMILTON ROSE, D. D. S., was born in Roseville, Tioga county, August 16, 1849, and was educated in the common schools of his native village, and in Detroit, Michigan. He studied dentistry and in May, 1876, opened his present office, where he has since made a specialty of operative dentistry, and has built up a successful practice. Dr. Rose married Emma Bush, of Wellsboro, September 29, 1875, and has one daughter, Kittie. The family are members of the Presbyterian church. Mrs. Rose is the only child of Isaac and Catherine (Borden) Bush. Her father was born in New York state, February 2, 1832, came to Tioga county, and located at Niles Valley, where he engaged extensively in the lumber business. He afterwards removed to Wellsboro, where he followed the boot and shoe business a few years, then returned to Niles Valley, and was killed in a saw-mill, March 11, 1872. His widow died in 1884, aged fifty-one years.
DR. JOHN HENRY SHEARER is one of the oldest practicing physicians in Tioga county. He was born in Delaware county, Pennsylvania, January 16, 1827, a son of Henry and Catherine Shearer, natives of the same county. he was reared a farmer’s boy, and at the age of nineteen enlisted in the Marine Corps, at Philadelphia, for service in the Mexican War, and was assigned to the line-of-battleship Ohio. He was at the siege and capture of Vera Cruz, and served until the close of the war, when he took up his residence in the Quaker City and began his medical studies under Prof. A. E. Small. He graduated from what is now Hahnemann College, Philadelphia, in the spring of 1852, and opened an office at Wellsboro, Tioga county, where he practiced three years and a half. In 1856 he went to Springfield, Illinois, spent some time in travel through the west, and practiced at Springfield from the fall of 1856 until the spring of 1859, when, because of failing health, he returned to Wellsboro, which has since been his permanent home. Dr. Shearer was married in 1858, to Hannah Stanton Rathbun, of Springfield, who died October 20, 1878, and has one son by that union, William Lincoln, editor and publisher of the Republican Advocate. He married for his second wife, Margaret M. Wylie, a daughter of W. P. Wylie, a well-known citizen of this county. Dr. Shearer was a next-door neighbor of Abraham Lincoln during his residence in Springfield; a member of his presidential party; his guest at the White House in 1862, and one of his closest friends until his tragic end. Dr. Shearer has been in continuous practice in Wellsboro for nearly forty years.
WILLIAM LINCOLN SHEARER, only child of Dr. John H. and Hannah Stanton Shearer, was born in Wellsboro, Pennsylvania, October 28, 1861. He received a good English education, graduating from the Wellsboro High School in 1881. After reading law under Judge Henry W. Williams and Hon. Horace B. Packer, he was admitted to the bar April 5, 1886, and practiced his profession about six months. On November1, 1886, he bought an interest in the Republican Advocate and became a partner with James H. Matson. On March 10, 1891, he purchased Mr. Matson’s interest, since which time he has conducted the paper alone. Mr. Shearer was married July 21, 1883, to Margaret L. Van Valkenburg, a daughter of C. G. Van Valkenburg, of Wellsboro. A Republican in politics, Mr. Shearer has uncompromisingly maintained the principles of that party in the columns of his paper. He is a vigorous, incisive writer, and has conducted the Republican Advocate with ability and success. In religion he is an adherent of the Protestant Episcopal church.
AUGUSTUS F. BARNES, of the firm of Barnes & Roy, editors and publishers of the Wellsboro Agitator, was born in Painted Post, Steuben county, New York, December 30, 1838, and is a son of Washington and Deidamia (Knox) Barnes. His mother died when he was but five weeks old, and he was cared for by an aunt in Knoxville, Steuben county, until four years of age, when his father having re-married, he was taken to live with him in Bath, New York, and there grew to manhood. His early education was acquired in the common schools. In 1859, after a preliminary reading under his father, who was a prominent lawyer of Steuben county, he completed his studies in the office of Spencer & Thomson, the leading law firm of Corning, New York, and was admitted to practice in 1860. During the next two years he filled the position of surrogate clerk under his father, who had been elected county judge and surrogate of Steuben county. from 1862 to 1872 he practiced law in Bath, with the exception of about twenty months, during 1864-64, when he was a clerk in the quartermaster general’s office, Washington, D. C., and a portion of the winter of 1865-66, when he was engaged in editing the Havana Journal, Havana, New York. In January, 1872, Mr. Barnes bought a half interest in the Wellsboro Agitator of P. C. Van Gelder. In September following Arthur M. Roy purchased Mr. Van Gelder’s remaining interest and the firm became Barnes & Roy, and has so continued to the present time. Mr. Barnes was married February 19, 1873, to sarah Bull, a daughter of Col. William H. and Sarah (Whiting) Bull, of Bath, New York. The following named children have been born to this union: Sarah, Anna, Robert S. and Franklin A., both deceased; William Douglas and John Knox. In politics, Mr. Barnes is a Republican, and in religion, a member of the Protestant Episcopal church. As editor of the Agitator, Mr. Barnes has proven himself a clear and logical thinker and a vigorous, forceful writer. He wields a facile, graceful pen, and deals with all matters of public policy with frankness and fearlessness. Under his guidance the Agitator has become a power in this congressional district, and is recognized as one of the best-edited weekly papers in Pennsylvania.
ARTHUR M. ROY, of the firm of Barnes & Roy, editors and publishers of the Wellsboro Agitator, is the only living child of Dr. Robert and Irene M. (Dartt) Roy. He was born in Wellsboro, November 4, 1852, and was educated in the borough schools and in the Mansfield State Normal. At the age of twelve years he entered the Agitator office as an apprentice and served three years. He then went to school until he was nineteen years old. On September 1, 1872, he purchased the half interest of P. C. Van Gelder in the Agitator and became a partner of A. F. Barnes, the firm becoming Barnes & Roy. Entering the firm with a practical knowledge of the art of printing, Mr. Roy has devoted himself to the mechanical department of the paper and office, and has also discharged the duties of local editor. He has few superiors as a printer, having mastered the art in all its details. The neat typographical appearance of the Agitator, and the high class of work turned out by the jobbing department of the establishment, bear testimony to his skill. As a gleaner of local news he is industrious, and what he writes stamps him a first class newspaper man. Mr. Roy was married September 6, 1876, to Margaret L. Giles, a daughter of Benjamin and Rachel Giles, of Jamestown, New York. To this marriage there have been born three children, viz: Harold, Annie and Robert. Mr. Roy ranks among the prominent and respected citizens of Wellsboro. In politics he is a Republican, and has always been outspoken in the advocacy of the principles of that party. He is a deacon of the Presbyterian church of Wellsboro; is also superintendent of the Presbyterian Sunday-school, and is an active supporter of everything tending toward the moral advancement of the community. He is a director in the First National Bank, and a member of the F. & A. M. and I. O. O. F. societies.
FRANK CONEVERY, editor and publisher of the Wellsboro Gazette, was born in Bath, Steuben county, New York, July 16, 1855, and is a son of Patrick and Sarah Conevery. While he was yet an infant, his father was accidentally killed. His mother, who is still living, is a resident of Bath. Mr. Conevery’s early education was acquired in the common schools. In 1869, when but fourteen years old, he became a printer’s apprentice and completed his trade in 1872, in the office of the Bath Advocate. During the next two years he worked as a journeyman printer in the Advocate office, the Buffalo Courier and other papers. In the fall of 1874 he took charge of the mechanical department of the Hammondsport Herald, continuing until April, 1877, when he came to Wellsboro and in the following August bought out the interest of F. G. Churchill in the Wellsboro Gazette and became a partner in its publication with S. N. Havens, under the firm name of Havens & Conevery. This partnership was terminated in November, 1881, when Mr. Havens sold his interest to Herbert Huntington, and the firm became Huntington & Conevery. In November, 1885, Frederick K. Wright bought the interest of Mr. Huntington, and continued as a partner until January 1, 1895, since which time Mr. Conevery has carried on the enterprise alone. On December 9, 1880, Mr. Conevery married Helen Bullard, a daughter of M. S. and Mariette Bullard, of Wellsboro. Two children, a daughter, Mary, and a son, Robert G., have been born to them. In politics, Mr. Conevery is a Democrat, and in the presidential campaign of 1896, his paper gave Bryan and Sewall and the Chicago platform, able, earnest and unswerving support, and especially that plank of the platform which declared for the free coinage of silver. Under Mr. Conevery’s management the Gazette has acquired a well-deserved reputation as an ably-edited and well-conducted newspaper. Its editorials are strongly written and party and public questions are dealt with in a fearless manner. Local news from all parts of the county is industriously gathered, the Gazette being especially noted for the excellence of its local news department. Being the only outspoken Democratic paper in the county, it has a large circulation, and is regarded as one of the leading Democratic journals of the northern tier. Mr. Conevery is a member of Alert Hose Company, and also of the K. of P. and K. O. T. M. societies.
SAMUEL MORGAN, SR., born in Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, March 16, 1803, was educated in the common schools and learned the blacksmith’s trade in his native county, which he followed there until 1837. In that year he came to Tioga county and located at Covington, then a hamlet of only a few buildings, called "The Corner," where he followed his trade for seven years. He then purchased a farm in the Frost settlement, and followed farming in connection with his trade until 1855, when he sold the farm and removed to Round Top, Charleston township; bought a property, and followed blacksmithing, lumbering and farming, up to his death, February 10, 1875. Mr. Morgan was married in 1824, to Ann Kimble, a daughter of Albert and Hannah Kimble. Ten children were born to this union, eight of whom grew to manhood and womanhood, as follows: Sarah A., wife of Jesse Bryant, of Charleston township; H. Elizabeth, deceased wife of Jonathan Everetts; Daniel M., of Olean, New York; William M., who died in a southern prison during the Rebellion, from a gun-shot wound; Jonathan V., of Wellsboro; Seth, a farmer in Arkansas; Samuel, a resident of Charleston township, and Ephraim, deceased. With the exception of the last mentioned, all of the sons were soldiers in the Union army, and all but Samuel served from the beginning to the close of the war. Mrs. Morgan died in 1872. Mr. Morgan was a member of the Baptist church in early life, but later united with the Wesleyan Methodist church, in which faith he died.
JONATHAN V. MORGAN, ex-treasurer of Tioga county, was born in Covington township, Tioga county, March 1, 1838; was reared upon a farm, and was educated in the public schools and at Wellsboro Academy. On April 22, 1861, he enlisted in Company E, First Pennsylvania Reserve, known as "The Bucktails." He was taken prisoner at Gaines’ Hill, June 28, 1862, and was confined in Libby, Castle Thunder and Belle Isle prisons, and later paroled, and rejoined his regiment at Alexandria, Virginia. With the exception of the period when he was a prisoner, he served in all the engagements in which his regiment participated. He was wounded at Gettysburg, and was several times promoted for gallant and meritorious conduct on the battle-field. He commanded his company through most of the Wilderness Campaign, as first sergeant, and was first lieutenant by brevet when his regiment was mustered out of service, in June, 1864. Mr. Morgan then returned to Tioga county, and resumed farming in Charleston township. He was married February 25, 1869, to Melvina L. Shumway, a daughter of Joseph and Margaret C. (Peake) Shumway, of Charleston township. Mrs. Morgan had three brothers: Charles L., Hiram P. and William P. Charles L., was a soldier in the Civil War, and died August 22, 1864. Hiram P. is a resident of Olean, New York, and William P. is dead. Politically, Mr. Morgan is an unswerving Republican. He served two terms as township treasurer, two terms as supervisor, and one as school director. In 1887 he was elected a jury commissioner, in which office he served three years, and in the fall of 1892 he was elected county treasurer, which position he filled in an acceptable manner until January, 1896. Mr. Morgan is a member of Tyoga Lodge No. 230, I. O. O. F., also of George Cook Post, G. A. R., of Wellsboro. He has held all the important offices in the latter, and has been state aid-de-camp two terms. He is a member of the Union veteran Legion, and the Association of Prisoners, and takes an active interest in all matters pertaining to the welfare of the old veterans.
JAMES L. WHITE, ex-postmaster of Wellsboro, is a son of the late Judge Robert G. White, and was born in Wellsboro, Tioga county, October 23, 1849. He was educated in the High School, and when eighteen years of age went to California and worked two years in the silver mines. Returning to Wellsboro, he clerked for C. C. Mathers six years, and in the spring of 1876 he was appointed inspector of customs at Philadelphia. In the spring of 1877, he and his brother Frank purchased a grocery store in Wellsboro, and one year later he bought his brother’s interest. He conducted the business until 1883, when he bought out the store of F. K. Wright, consolidated the two stores, and carried on merchandising until 1884, when he was burned out. He immediately re-stocked his store, and then sold the business to Saxton, Seely & company, in the fall of 1886. In the autumn of 1889 he went to Pittsburg, where he acted as state agent for the Edison phonograph for one year, returning to Wellsboro in the fall of 1890. In 1891 he was appointed postmaster of Wellsboro, which position he occupied four years, and is now holding the responsible position of cashier at the House of Representatives, Washington, D. C. Mr. White was married November 24, 1875, to Adelaide Wilbur, a daughter of Col. Aaron Wilbur, of Savannah, Georgia, and has three children, viz: Adelaide Lousise, Sarah Bache and Mary Wilbur. The family attend the Protestant Episcopal church. Politically, Mr. White is a Republican, and has been a member of the school board, president of the board of education, and a member of the borough council. He is connected with the F. & A. M., and is Past Commander of the Knights Templar.
HORACE A. DEANS was born in Montrose, Susquehanna county, Pennsylvania, February 10, 1824. His father, James Deans, was a native of Lebanon county, Connecticut, born in 1794, and removed with his parents to Montrose when ten years of age. He there learned the carpenter’s trade, which he followed for many years. In 1819 he married Abigail Cornwall, and reared two sons, Horace A. and Willis B., the latter a merchant of Montrose. Horace was reared in his native town, and there commenced his business career. He enlisted in Company I, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania Volunteers, served nine months, and then re-enlisted in the Signal Service, and was stationed at Georgetown Heights until the close of the war. Returning to Montrose, he worked at paper hanging, painting and carpentering until his death, in July, 1877. He married Frances E. Stroud, March 29, 1848, and reared two sons, Frank A., of Wellsboro, and Edward C., a resident of Scranton.
FRANK A. DEANS, was born in Bridgewater township, Susquehanna county, January 22, 1849, and is the eldest son of Horace A. Deans. He spent his boyhood in Hyde Park, Lackawanna county, where he was educated in the graded school. When fifteen years of age he entered a printing office in Montrose, where he worked for two years. He subsequently clerked in the postoffice in that town for two years, and then engaged with C. M. Crandall, of Montrose, to learn the turner’s trade, at which time he spent three years. He later entered the insurance office of Billings Stroud, and on June 1, 1870, came to Wellsboro, Tioga county, to clerk in the land office of the Bingham estate. He occupied that position until Mr. Simpson’s death, April 15, 1893, when he succeeded him as agent of the trustees of said estate. Mr. Deans was married December 9, 1873, to Mary E. Guernsey, a daughter of H. A. Guernsey. He is a member of Tyoga Lodge, No. 230, and Wellsboro Encampment, No. 78, I. O. O. F. For the past twenty years he has been Scribe of the lodge, and has filled the chair in both branches. He is also colonel of the Second Pennsylvania Regiment of Patriarchs Militant. He is a member of Ossea Lodge, No. 317, F. & A. M.; Tyoga Chapter, No. 194, R. A. M., and Tyagaghton Commandery, No. 28, K. T. Mr. Deans is the leader of Wellsborough’s Military Band, which owes its present efficiency to his efforts. He was also a leading spirit in the organization of the Alert Hose Company, and has ever been active in promoting the best interests of the borough.
GEORGE W. WILLIAMS, a son of Joseph and Elizabeth Tabor Williams, was born in Tioga, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, June 23, 1859. His parents removed to Wellsboro when our subject was less than one year old, and he there grew to manhood, receiving his education in the public schools. When sixteen years of age he commenced clerking in the store of C. C. Mathers, and later clerked for Young & Miller. He was next employed in the commissioners’ office by Leonard Harrison, at the time he was commissioners’ clerk. On January 1, 1880, he accepted a position as clerk in the office of the Bingham estate where he has since been employed. Mr. Williams has taken considerable interest in public affairs, has served as a member of the borough council, and also as burgess of Wellsboro, and at different times has been chairman of the Republican county committee. He was married March 12, 1883, to Ida A. Horton, the daughter of Capt. A. B. Horton, formerly of Wellsboro, and has two children, Clinton T. and Joseph H.
WILLIAM E. CHAMPAIGN, sheriff of Tioga county, was born at Cedar Run, Brown township, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, January 3, 1861, son of Peter B. and Hannah (Sechrist) Champaign. His father was a native of Soriel, which is located at the mouth of the outlet of Lake Champlain, in the Province of Quebec, Canada, while his mother was born in Liberty township, Tioga county, Pennsylvania. His father served in the Two Hundred and Seventh Pennsylvania Volunteers, and is now a resident of Elk township. William E. was reared in Lycoming and Tioga counties, and has been a permanent resident of this county since his seventh year. He obtained a common school education and labored at lumbering until after his majority. In 1886 he engaged in the life and fire insurance business, which he still carries on in connection with his duties as sheriff. Mr. Champaign married Emma N. Neal, daughter of Daniel Neal, September 12, 1884, and has two children, Nellie and Earle. The family are Presbyterians. He is an ardent Republican, and has always taken an active part in local politics. He was postmaster at Gaines for two years; was elected sheriff of Tioga county in 1894, and was a delegate to the State Convention in 1896. Mr. Champaign is a Knight Templar in the Masonic order, and is one of the popular officials of Tioga county.
MILFORD H. STEBBINS was born at Sabinsville, Tioga county, September 2, 1860, and is the eldest child of Elijah H. Stebbins. He was reared and educated in his native township, and later attended the Knoxville graded school, and Woodhull Academy, at Woodhull, New York, where he passed a regent’s examination. When eighteen years of age he began assisting his father in the store and lumber business, and at his father’s death he took charge of the same. In December, 1883, he bought his uncle’s interest in the lumber business, and was made guardian for the other heirs. He conducted the business under this arrangement until April, 1884, when the estate was divided, he and his brother George taking the mill property, the store having burned in 1881. They conducted the business up to 1886, in which year he purchased his brother’s interest and operated the mill until the destruction by fire in 1893. In November, 1890, Mr. Stebbins was elected a county commissioner, on the republican ticket, and removed to Wellsboro in January, 1891. He also served as auditor of Clymer township for ten years, assessor one term, assistant assessor two terms, and census enumerator in 1890. Upon the expiration of his term as county commissioner in January, 1894, he formed a partnership with C. N. Butts, of Sabinsville, and has since been engaged in contracting for stone and brick work, bridges, pile driving, etc. He is also proprietor of the Wellsboro Cigar Factory, where he is engaged in the manufacture of cigars for the trade, and is an active, energetic and enterprising business man. On January 19, 1879, he married Addie C. Newton, a daughter of Moses and Sally Newton, of Sabinsville, and is the father of five children, as follows: Gordon E., Clayton M., Hugh W., Ila, deceased, and Arland E. The family attend the Methodist Episcopal church. Mr. Stebbins is a member of Westfield Lodge, No. 477, F. & A. M.; Westfield Chapter, No. 265; Tyagaghton Commandery, No. 28, and Wellsboro Lodge, No. 374, K. of P.
FRANCIS BEAUGE, a wine merchant of Paris, France, came to the United States in 1836, and located on a farm near Utica, New York. Three years later he removed to Charleston township, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, where he purchased a farm and resided until his death in August, 1862. His wife, whose maiden name was Marie Moucours, was also a native of France. Two children were born to them: Hippolyte, since deceased, and Eugene, a resident of Wellsboro. Mrs. Beauge survived her husband over thirty years, dying May 30. 1893.
EUGENE BEAUGE was born in Charleston township, Tioga county, March 26, 1840, and is the only living child of Francis and Marie Beauge. He was reared on the homestead farm, and attended the common schools of his district. In 1861 he enlisted in Company G, Forty-fifth Pennsylvania Volunteers, was later promoted to sergeant, and served with his regiment until the close of the war. He participated in most of the battles and long marches for which the regiment was noted, and was honorably discharged July 17, 1865. Returning to Tioga county, he soon after entered Eastman Business College, Poughkeepsie, New York, where he graduated in April, 1866. He then purchased a farm in Charleston township, and followed farming up to 1884, when he was appointed clerk in the commissioners’ office. Removing to Wellsboro, he purchased his present home the following year. he had resigned the office of county auditor to accept that of commissioners’ clerk. After retiring from the commissioners’ office in 1884, Mr. Beauge resumed the management of his farm in Charleston, though continuing to reside in Wellsboro. He was again elected county auditor in 1890, and re-elected in 1893 and 1896. He also served as clerk of Charleston township for ten years, and has been one of the active workers of the republican party since the war. Mr. Beauge married Lucy Culver, a daughter of Joel and Sarah Culver, of Charleston township, to which union have been born three children, viz: Frank L., manager of the W. W. Bradbury Company’s store, at Landrus; Frederick E., book-keeper for the Union Tanning Company, at Hoytville, and A. Naomi. The family attend the Methodist Episcopal church. Mr. Beauge is a member of George Cook Post, No. 315, G. A. R., and of Encampment No. 105, U. V. L., both of Wellsboro.
FRANK L. BEAUGE, eldest son of Eugene and Lucy Beauge, was born in Charleston township, Tioga county, July 28, 1870, and obtained his education in the schools of that township and Wellsboro. On March 2, 1893, he married Eva Wheeler, a daughter of B. F. Wheeler, of Marsh Creek, Tioga county. After serving nearly two years as clerk in the general store of Hoyt Brothers, at Hoytville, he accepted the position of manager of the W. W. Bradbury Company’s store, at Landrus, in August, 1893, which he still holds. As a business man, he has proven himself thorough, capable and competent, and is popular with the patrons of the store. In politics, Mr. Beauge is a Republican, and in religion, an adherent of the Methodist Episcopal church. He is also a member of the P. O. S. of A., of Hoytville.
THOMAS T. REES, a son of William T. and Margaret (Roberts) Reese, and grandson of Thomas Rees, was born in South Wales, December 8, 1852. His parents died when Thomas T. was quite young, leaving him and one brother, Evan, to the care of strangers. The latter is now a land agent in South Wales. Two years after his parents’ death, Thomas T. was sent to the United States to his uncles, Robert, Hugh, William and John Roberts, who had immigrated some thirty years before, locating in Luzerne county, Pennsylvania. Soon after his arrival, his five uncles enlisted in the Union army. Four of them were killed in the war, John alone returning. Our subject lived with the latter at Pittston, Luzerne county, up to 1868, and worked in a lumber yard. In 1870 he came to Morris Run, Tioga county, and worked in the mines for eleven years, afterwards serving as a clerk in the post-office at Morris Run two years. He was then appointed to the position of paster and folder in the State printing office at Harrisburg, where he worked for two years, and was then taken sick and returned to Morris Run, where he continued to reside, though unable to any work for the following three years. In 1888, after recovering from his serious illness, he was appointed ticket and express agent for the Erie railroad at Morris Run. Resigning this position in January, 1892, he came to Wellsboro to accept the office of deputy sheriff, which he filled during Sheriff Irvin’s term. On November 19, 1872, Mr. Rees married Anna Price, of Morris Run, who has borne him six children, viz: Evan, William, Elmer, May, (the last two died in infancy), Margaret and Horace Packer. In politics, Mr. Rees is a Republican, and the family attend the Baptist church. He is a member of Ossea Lodge, No. 317, F. & A. M., and Tioga Lodge, No. 304, K. of P.
FRANK WATKINS, chief clerk in the commissioners’ office, was born in Athens township, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, October 31, 1842, and is a son of John and Mary (Green) Watkins. His paternal grandparents were from Connecticut, where his grandfather, Maj. William Watkins, was born in 1753. He was an officer in the Continental army, and participated in the battle of Bunker Hill. He died in Athens township, Bradford county, whither he had removed from Connecticut, November 17, 1828, in his seventy-sixth year. Major Watkins’ wife, Lois, was born in 1760, and died July 30, 1851, at the ripe old age of ninety-one years. They were the parents of five children, John, the father of our subject, being the youngest. He was born in Connecticut, January 6, 1789, married Betsey Green, in Bradford county, April 11, 1813, and reared a family of thirteen children, only five of whom survive. The mother died July 7, 1839, in her forty-seventh year, and her husband was again married, December 22, 1840, to Mrs. Mary Green, a native of Providence, Rhode Island, born July 20, 1797. One son, Frank, the subject of this sketch, was born to this union. The mother died November 26, 1863, in her sixty-seventh year, and the father, March 23, 1869, in the eighty-first year of his age. Frank was reared upon his father’s farm, where he spent the first twenty-one years of his life, sharing the common lot of a farmer’s son. He obtained such education as he could in the common school, supplemented by two or three terms at the Athens Academy. In 1864 he completed a course of study at Eastman Business College, Poughkeepsie, New York, and for the following year was book-keeper for Gardner & Inslee, produce commission merchants, of New York City. He then learned the paper maker’s trade, which he worked at five years, principally in Waverly, New York. On July 6, 1867, he married Miss Nettie Courtright, of Waverly, by whom he has two sons, Willis P. and Albert J., and two daughters, Ina M. and Myrtie D. In the year 1870 he removed to Wellsboro, Tioga county, where he has since resided. His wife, Nettie, died November 2, 1884, in her thirty-fifth year. On October 27, 1885, he married Mrs. Anna C. English, to which union have been born two sons, Francis M. and Leon Erland. In 1882 he entered the office of the county commissioners as assistant clerk, and by industry and strict attention to the affairs of the office attained the chief clerkship, which position he is now filling. Mr. Watkins’ long period of continual service has proven him to be a faithful official, and an invaluable assistant to the commissioners. He has been borough auditor for three years, which office he has filled with satisfaction and credit to himself. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. and the P. of H. In politics, a Republican, he has always given his earnest support to the principles, measures and candidates of that party.
ORRIN BLAIR was born on Russell Mountain, Massachusetts, December 28, 1825, a son of Nathan and Sally (Tyrrell) Blair, natives of Massachusetts and New York, respectively. They were the parents of thirteen children, Orrin being the tenth in the family. The father was a physician, and died in 1849, aged seventy-two years. His widow survived until 1866, and died at the home of her son Orrin, aged seventy-eight years. In 1837 Orrin’s brother, James, who was born in Massachusetts in 1811, came to Tioga county, Pennsylvania, and bought a farm in Delmar township. Soon after he contracted consumption, and in 1840 Orrin came on to take care of him. After the death of James, Orrin purchased a farm, and lived upon it up to his death in 1895. He received his early education in his native State, and later attended the Wellsboro Academy. Though he worked a portion of his time as a carpenter, he made farming his principal occupation. He owned 169 acres near the northwest corner of the borough, and made dairying a specialty. On April 2, 1849, Mr. Blair married Louisa Hiltbold, a daughter of Jacob and Abigail (Johnson) Hiltbold. She was born February 1, 1831, and is the mother of five children, viz: Mary Ellen, wife of Alphonso Spencer; James O., a farmer in Delmar; Lewis M., residing on the old homestead; Sherman L., baggage master at the Fall Brook station, and William E., principal of the Tioga graded schools. Mrs. Blair is a member of the Protestant Episcopal church, in which Faith Mr. Blair lived and died. In politics, he was a Republican, filled the office of supervisor, and was poormaster of Delmar township the year the poor house was erected. Mr. Blair was one of the successful and prominent farmers of this section.
CHARLES AVERY was born in Eaton, Madison county, New York, in 1800, a son of Constant Avery. He was reared on a farm, and came to Tioga county, Pennsylvania, in 1824, purchasing a farm of 160 acres in Chatham township, where he was engaged in agricultural pursuits until his death, January 14, 1875. He married Sophia Cloos, a daughter of Newbury Cloos, a pioneer of Deerfield township, Tioga county. Ten children were born to this union, viz: Constant, of Chatham township; Esther, wife of Matt Ashton, of Livingston county, New York; Cyrus W., of Wellsboro; William, deceased; Deruyter, of Chatham township; Miranda, wife of Frank Churchill, of Middlebury; Leonidas, a resident of Ansonia; Albert, deceased; Mary, wife of Jefferson West, of Middlebury, and John, who died in early youth. Mrs. Avery died on January 14, 1875, one hour before her husband, quite a remarkable coincidence, after a married life of nearly half a century. Politically, Mr. Avery was a Democrat in early life, and later a Free Soiler. He served as collector of Chatham township for ten years, and was one of the respected citizens of that locality.
CYRUS W. AVERY, second son of Charles Avery, was born in Chatham township, Tioga county, February 10, 1833, attended the common schools in boyhood, and worked on his father’s farm until twenty-five years of age. For the succeeding fifteen years he worked on his own farm in Chatham township in summer time and in the lumber woods in winter. In 1882 he sold his farm in Chatham and bought his present farm in the suburbs of Wellsboro, containing seventy-six acres, where he has since followed agriculture. On February 16, 1859, Mr. Avery married Jane Spencer, a daughter of Aurora and Catherine (Conklin) Spencer. Her father was born in 1808, and died July 14, 1862. Her mother was born in 1810, and died January 29, 1876. Mrs. Avery was born January 30, 1840, and is the mother of two children, viz: Ida R., wife of Francis Andrews, of Wellsboro, and Jennie M., wife of John Fisher, of Marsh Creek. Mr. Avery and wife are members of the Second Advent church, and in politics, he is independent. He served as supervisor of Chatham township one term.
ADAM A. KLOCK was born in Manheim, Herkimer county, New York, January 28, 1800, a son of Adam Klock, and came to Tioga county, Pennsylvania, about 1835. He purchased a farm in Charleston township, on which he resided up to his death, December 13, 1875. He married Nancy, a daughter of John Hart, of Herkimer county, New York, who survived him until March 17, 1884, dying at the age of seventy-nine years. They were the parents of ten children, as follows: Jesse, who recently died in Oregon; Jeremiah, a retired farmer of Wellsboro; Irene, deceased wife of Waldo May; Margaret, widow of Charles Brown; John A., who lives in Illinois; Edwin, a resident of Covington, Tioga county; Henry H., who resides in Kansas; Andrew, of Wellsboro; Hiram, who lives in Elmira, and Lizzie, wife of George D. Brooks, of Charleston township.
JEREMIAH KLOCK, retired farmer, was born in Herkimer county, New York, May 5, 1824, and is the second son of Adam A. Klock. He was reared upon a farm, and when twenty-two years of age purchased 112 acres of land in Charleston township, upon which he settled. He added to his first purchase from time to time until he owned 356 acres in the same township, and continued agricultural pursuits up to 1872, when he was compelled to give up work on account of ill health. He sold his lands in Charleston township, and in the spring of 1875 purchased his present home in Wellsboro, where he has lived since the autumn of 1877. Mr. Klock was married October 30, 1845, to Maria Abrams, daughter of Nelson Abrams. She was born December 8, 1826, and is the mother of five children, viz: Nelson V., a resident of Elmira; Jennie D., wife of Russell Ely, of Charleston township; Milan L., of Wellsboro; Clara E., wife of Sterry E. Kimball, of Charleston township, and Nancy E., deceased wife of William H. Smith, of the same township. Mr. Klock is a member of the Presbyterian church, and his wife of the Christian church. In politics, a Republican, he served as auditor of Charleston township six years.
MILAN L. KLOCK, stock dealer, was born in Charleston township, Tioga county, March 14, 1852, a son of Jeremiah Klock. He was reared on the homestead farm, and obtained a public school education. When twenty-one years old he commenced working the home farm on his own account, and followed farming four years. He then went to Antrim and carried on a meat market four years, and while there bought a farm of 140 acres in Delmar township, four miles from Wellsboro, which he has since cultivated. In December, 1883, he came to Wellsboro, where he had previously purchased his present home, and engaged in the live stock business, which he has followed ever since. He later took in as partner E. M. Johnson, which business connection continued up the spring of 1894, when Mr. Klock withdrew and formed a partnership with J. C. Bradley, under the firm name of Bradley & Klock, contractors in all kinds of stone work. Mr. Klock was married September 18, 1877, to Harriet C. Peake, a daughter of Willis Peake, of Charleston township, and has one son, Leon. The family attend the Methodist Episcopal church, and Mr. Klock is a member of the K. of P. Politically, a Republican, he was a member of the council from 1888 to 1891, was appointed assessor in February, 1888, was elected to the same office in 1889, and re-elected in 1892 and 1895.
JAMES L. ROBB, youngest child of John and Susan Robb, was born in Farmington township, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, May 4, 1842. He was reared on the homestead farm and was educated in the common schools and at Iron City Commercial College, Pittsburg. On January 16, 1865, he enlisted in Company B, One Hundred and Ninety-fourth New York Volunteers, and served with the rank of second lieutenant until mustered out the following June. After leaving the army he went to Omaha, Nebraska, where he entered the employ of the Union Pacific Railroad Company, and for nearly a year had charge of the force engaged in painting and finishing the stations from Omaha to North Platte, a distance of 600 miles. Returning to Farmington township, he purchased the homestead from his father and devoted his attention to farming, shipping hay, live-stock, etc., being for eight years a member of the firm of Mather & Robb. His partner was C. S. Mather, of Elmira, New York, whose interest he purchased in 1892. Mr. Robb resided on his farm until October, 1895, when he purchased his present residence in Wellsboro. He is the owner of a fine farm in Farmington, embracing nearly 400 acres of land, and is one of the largest shippers of hay, live-stock and farm produce in Tioga county, owning seven store-houses on the line of the Fall Brook railroad. On January 3, 1870, Mr. Robb married Helen S. Sheives, a daughter of Albert Sheives, of Job’s Corners, Tioga county. Three children have been born to this union, viz: Levi S., Casner J., and Ada, the last of whom died in infancy. Politically, Mr. Robb is an ardent Republican. In religion, he is a member of the Presbyterian church. A man of commendable public spirit, sound business methods and persistent industry, he can safely be classed as one of the successful business men of his native county.
EZRA POTTER, a native of Rhode Island, born in 1800, came to Tioga county, Pennsylvania, in company with a party of settlers from his State, among them being his older brother, Stephen Potter, in 1817, and later assisted in cutting a road through the forest from the site of Westfield borough to that of Potter Brook, where the family purchased land and located in 1818. Ezra Potter married Eunice Swede, and reared a family of seven children by this marriage, viz: Stephen A., John W., deceased; Almon A., a resident of Brookfield; Hiram E., of Wellsboro; Matilda A., wife of George W. Peckham; Adeline, wife of Hiram W. Dartt, and Ezra H., a publisher of Nyack, New York. Mrs. Potter died in 1835, aged thirty-four years, and he was again married to Eunice Stebbins, who bore him two children, viz: Eunice, wife of King Towner, of Elmira, New York, and Nancy, wife of Noah Close, of Westfield, Tioga county. Mr. Potter died in 1883.
HIRAM E. POTTER was born in Chatham township, Tioga county, January 9, 1828, and is the fourth child of Ezra and Eunice (Swede) Potter. He was reared on a farm, attended the district schools in boyhood, and when seventeen years of age began working out as a farm hand. The next year he went to learn the carpenter’s trade, which business he followed ten years. He then purchased a farm of 320 acres in Deerfield township, upon which he lived seventeen years. Removing to Middlebury township he resided there eight years, and in 1876 bought his present home in Wellsboro, where he has since lived, though unable to work because of rheumatism. Mr. Potter was married May 28, 1856, to Angela D. Potter, who died in May, 1884. In March, 1885, he married Mrs. Mary Westbrook, nee Butler. He is a member of the Baptist church, and his wife of the Methodist Episcopal church. In politics, he is a Republican, and is also connected with the I. O. O. F. society.
LOUIS BRILL, a native of Germany, came with his parents to the United States about 1835, being then about five years old. He afterwards worked for a period in Philadelphia, and came to Tioga county in 1848, locating on the site of the present village of Morris, near the mouth of Wilson creek. He followed lumbering there for a few years and then removed to Brown township, Lycoming county. In 1864 he returned to Tioga county and located on the land now occupied by the Brunswick Tannery, at Hoytville. Here he remained until 1874, when he removed into Delmar township, four miles south of Wellsboro. In 1878 he went to Kansas, remaining until 1880, when he and his family returned to Tioga county and settled three miles south of Wellsboro, where he died July 22, 1881, aged fifty-two years. Mr. Brill was married in June, 1854, to Elizabeth Harrison, a daughter of John Harrison, an early settler of Lycoming county. Eight children were the fruits of this union, viz: Sarah J., who died in infancy; Louis, who was drowned when eight years old; George, Mary A., deceased; John F., Emma, deceased; Cora E., wife of John W. Lloyd, of Wellsboro, and Catherine H., wife of J. W. Smith, of Galeton, Potter county. George was born in Delmar township, Tioga county, February 21, 1859, and John F. in Lycoming county, January 24, 1863, but were reared in Tioga county until 1878, when they went to Kansas with their parents, whence the family returned to Tioga county two years later. In 1884 the Brill brothers purchased their present farm of 100 acres in the northwestern part of Wellsboro, where they have since resided with their mother. They rank among the reputable farmers of the county. In politics, they are Republicans.
LYMAN COLES was born June 1, 1806, in Chenango county, New York, received a common school education, and became a farmer and lumberman. He married Electa Sellick, in Smithville, Chenango county, New York. She was a daughter of Capt. James Sellick, a soldier of the War of 1812, the canteen carried by him during that conflict being now the treasured possession of his grandson, W. R. Coles, of Wellsboro. Mr. and Mrs. Coles were the parents of three children: James S., deceased; Mandeville S., a merchant of Stony Fork, and W. R. of Wellsboro. Mr. Coles came to Tioga county, Pennsylvania, in 1864, whither he had been preceded by his sons, then in business at Stony Fork. Here he located and lived retired, having previously accumulated a competence by years of active industry. He died December 25, 1886. His wife, who was born December 29, 1814, died November 2, 1885.
WILLIAM RILEY COLES, youngest son of Lyman and Electa (Sellick) Coles, was born in Smithville, Chenango county, New York, November 11, 1841, where he received a common school education. He came to Delmar township, Tioga county, in 1862, but did not take up his residence here until the following year, when he became a partner with his brothers in a store at Stony Fork. They continued together until 1865, when the subject of this sketch took charge of the hotel at Stony Fork, which he conducted until 1868. He then engaged in lumbering and in 1871 built a steam saw-mill, the first in that section, just below Stony Fork. This he operated until August, 1872, when he came to Wellsboro and purchased the livery stable on Pearl street, now owned by Samuel E. Smith. He was actively connected with the stable for five years, and retained an interest in it until 1888. In 1877 he became a partner with his brother, James S., in the management of Coles House, previously known as the Bunnell House, the firm being J. S. & W. R. Coles. Here he remained until 1882, when he went to Tioga and took charge of the Park Hotel, which he managed for nearly five years. In 1887 he went to Los Angeles, California, where he remained for a short time. After keeping hotel for a year in Gilroy, and spending about a year in San Francisco, in business, he returned to Tioga county in 1890 and leased the hotel in Elkland, now known as the Sandbach House, which he conducted until November, 1893. He then came to Wellsboro, and succeeded his brother, James S.,–who died two months later—as landlord of the Coles House, formerly known as the Parkhurst House. On August 1, 1896, Mr. Coles bought this property of the estate of the late Charles L. Pattison, and has since spent considerable money in repairing and improving it. Mr. Coles was married February 14, 1861, to Lydia A. Knickerbocker, a daughter of Jared Knickerbocker, of Smithville. She became the mother of two children, viz: Dora E., widow of William H. Roberts, of Wellsboro, and Flora D., wife of Mark Wetherbee, of Brocton, Chautauqua county, New York. Mrs. Coles died October 5, 1876, aged thirty-seven years. On September 22, 1892, he married Miss Nellie Manning. In politics, Mr. Coles is a Republican. He is a member of Ossea Lodge, No. 317, F. & A. M.; Tyagaghton Commandery, No. 28, K. T., and Elkland Lodge, No. 800, I. O. O. F.
HENRY SMITH was born in Orange county, New York, January 18, 1834, and died in Wellsboro, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, May 2, 1896. He was a son of Samuel B. and Hiley (Caskey) Smith, natives of New York state, where both died. Henry was reared in his native county, there attended the common schools, and when eighteen years of age became a member of the firm of Masterson & Smith, and engaged in the manufacture of wheelbarrows. At the end of eighteen months he entered the employ of the New York, Lake Erie and Western railroad as an oil man, but after six weeks was promoted to assistant conductor, which position he filled two years. He was then made conductor of a freight train and worked as such up to 1865 when he was promoted to the conductorship of a passenger train, which he held continuously until 1886. In that year he went to Danville, Illinois, ran a railroad restaurant for eight months, and then located in Horseheads, New York, where he operated a brickyard four years. On January 8, 1891, he came to Wellsboro, Tioga county, and in partnership with a Mr. Austin purchased the livery stables of M. L. Klock. The firm of Smith & Austin carried on the business up to April, 1893, when Mr. Smith bought out his partner and conducted the business alone until the time of his death. In 1862 he married Helen M. Everett, a daughter of Bennett Everett, of Orange county, New York. She is the mother of two children, Alice E., wife of livery stables since the death of his father. Mr. Smith was a member of the Order of Railway Conductors, and also of the Knights of Honor. Of a quiet, retiring disposition, he mixed very little in public affairs, devoting his whole attention to the prosecution of his business. His life was one of steady, persistent industry, and was marked by strict integrity and a high sense of business honor.
FRANK S. DUNKLE, proprietor of the Wilcox House, was born in Hublersburg,
Centre county, Pennsylvania, September 3, 1855, a son of Michael and Julia
(Carner) Dunkle, natives of this State. His father was a blacksmith, and
followed that trade the greater portion of his life. Michael Dunkle’s family
consisted of eleven children, seven of whom are living, viz: John, a hotel-keeper
in Ridgway; Julia, widow of John W. Bailey, of Wellsboro; William, a hotel
clerk at Jersey Shore; Fremont, a resident of Beech Creek; Frank S., of
Wellsboro; Forest, a hotel-keeper of Jersey Shore, and Annie, who resides
at Beech Creek. Frank S. was reared and educated in his native town, and
when seventeen years of age began clerking in a hotel at Jersey Shore,
which position he filled for five years. He then located at Beech Creek,
and later took a contract to build a portion of the Beech Creek railroad.
He also served as a constable while there. In the spring of 1884 he came
to Wellsboro, Tioga county, and conducted the pool and billiard room in
the Coles House five years, and then went to Jersey Shore, where he carried
on the Junction House for fifteen months, the Globe Hotel for one year,
and the Hotel Dunkle eighteen months. On November 1, 1892, he returned
to Wellsboro to take charge of the Wilcox House, which he has since conducted
successfully. Mr. Dunkle was married in March, 1893, to Miss Anna Jackson,
a daughter of John Jackson, of Wellsboro, and has one son, Donald Ross.
Mr. Dunkle is a member of the F. & A. M., the I. O. O. F., and the
Knights of the Golden Eagle.