Tri-Counties Genealogy & History by Joyce M. Tice
Five County Volunteer Firemen's Association 1897
Bradford County PA
Chemung County NY
Tioga County PA
About this Site and How to Use It
Tri-County Genealogy & History Home Page
Warnings & Disclaimer
Table of Contents of 1897 FCVFA Booklet
Flagholders of Organizations
No Unauthorized Commercial Use
Say Hello to Joyce
This 1915 Photo of the Firemen's Convention
was found in the "treasures" of Joyce's Grandfather,
Lee. D. Tice of Sullivan Township. 
Photo was in Galeton by Shumway, photographer
Souvenir and Official Program 
of the Second Annual Convention 
of the
Five County Volunteer Firemen's Association of Northern Pennsylvania
Athens, Penna.
Thursday and Friday, September 2nd and 3rd, 1897




The following orders are hereby issued governing parade.

  1. The headquarters of the Chief Marshal will be established in rooms at Forrest House, on Main street.
  2. Second Assistant Marshal: Walter Huff, 1st Ass’t. Chief Engineer Fire Department. Third Assistant Marshal: P. E. Decker, 2nd Ass’t. Chief Engineer Fire Department.
  3. The staff of the Chief Marshal will report for duty at rooms of Chief Marshal at 1:30 p.m. sharp.
  4. The formation of the several divisions will commence at 1:30 o’clock, p.m., sharp, and the column will move promptly at 2 o’clock, p.m. Observe the following signal: Second ringing of the fire bell.
  5. The Aids of the several divisions participating are hereby informed that they will be required to have their divisions in the position in line assigned to them promptly and before the hour named for moving the columns.
  6. The Division Marshals will keep their respective divisions well closed up.
  7. The Commandents, Foremans or Captains of companies are directed not to cause the execution of any fancy movements by their companies which will cause a loss of ground to the rear and thereby make a break in the column while proceeding over the line of march.
  8. Each Division Marshal will promptly move his division into column when the left of the preceding division has passed the right of his division.
  9. In case of an alarm of fire being sounded during the formation or while the column is on the march, no organization will leave the line except those of the Athens Fire Department as may be designated by the Chief Engineer.
  10. The column will be divided into four divisions.
First Division to form on Bridge street, right resting on Elmira street.

Second Division to form on Center street, right resting on Elmira street.

Third Division to form on Chestnut street, right resting on Elmira street.

By order of G. F. Macafee, Chief Marshal.

P.S. Take notice of the seventh order.

Published On Tri-Counties Site On 6/20/2001
By Joyce M. Tice